top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

JudyDoll X Hello Kitty (Sanrio) X The British Museum Collection

Updated: Apr 27, 2023

JudyDoll X Hello Kitty X The British Museum Collection is one of JudyDoll's recent collaborations. I stumbled across this collection awhile ago and loved every single element about it. In this collection JudyDoll released x1 20pan Eyeshadow Palette, x3 6pan Eyeshadow Palettes, x2 Pressed Highlighters, x3 Pressed Powder Blushes, x5 Lip Lacquers and x5 Mascaras in a variety of shades all in beautifully designed packaging. JudyDoll is a popular Chinese Cosmetic brand that was established in June 2018 and is now breaking into the Asian makeup market. They are famous for their affordable dupes of high-end makeup products like MAC highlighters and even Clinique blushes.


Sanrio is a Japanese company that designs, licenses and produces products focusing on the kawaii ('cute') segment of Japanese popular culture, they are known for producing iconic Characters, such as My Melody, Cinnamoroll, Aggretsuko, Kerropi, Gudetama and the list goes on! But none is more famous than Hello Kitty! As a child growing up, Hello Kitty was to me the Asian counter part of Barbie, and was held to that iconic status where she had a cartoon series along with merchandise to go with it. Being a cat lover, Hello Kitty has forever a place in heart and this collection by JudyDoll in collaboration with Sanrio & TBM is really a special and beautiful collaboration overall in terms of look and presentation.


Concept & Packaging :

For this collection JudyDoll's concept and themes was set upon the idea of an Egypt Adventure. Everything about this collection to me is well thought off, I love the concept of ancient Egypt and using Hello Kitty (a cat) as a representation of Gods / Pharaos in the overall packaging was such a unique twist on all collaborator parties that really tied the entire collection together! The collection's main colour story is Black, Gold and Burnt Peach shade with printed images of Hello Kitty in 5 different forms of Egyptian Gods (Anubis, Rah, Bast, Thoth and Horus) as main focus of the packaging and embellished with Egyptian like symbols and characters/writings. Majority of the time Hello Kitty is depicted to be very cute and kawaii, but for this collection, HK has a more almost sophisticated theme that really makes her look like a fluffy goddess. Overall it is a very fun and unique take on Hello Kitty, Egyptian deities and makeup packaging and I'm so in love with every detail!


Products :

Egypt Adventure 20Colour Eyeshadow Palette is the clearly the main star piece in this Egypt Adventure collection. JudyDoll released a x1 20pan Eyeshadow Palette. Out of the x20 eyeshadow shades there are x9 Mattes, x4 Glitter Mattes and x5 Glitter Shimmer shades. The colour story for this palette to me really fits the theme so well with the desert Egyptian vibe. The palette shades range from some sandy neutral shades to deeper warmer tones ranging from browns to mauves and this palette can go from a daytime natural look to even a night time sultry colour scheme. As for formulations, I was very shocked and excited, majority of the matte shades are super soft and creamy, there are a few mattes that are abit more stiff in consistency but the shades have great pigment and blends out so well. Same goes for the matte glitter formula as well, I found them to be super creamy with intense colour payoff, just that there is tiny microglitters in the pigment. As for the glitter shimmers, the texture can be abit dry and flaky, but adhere well to the skin and has decent pigment. I recommend applying with the finger and no glue is required. Overall, to me this is such a great palette and I'm so happy that I bought it! I feel it can rival some bigger and well-known brands in terms of formulation and I would gladly be reaching for this more! Such a great palette overall!


Egypt Adventure 6Colour Eyeshadow Palette (01 Uptown Girl) For the Hello Kitty Collaboration JudyDoll released x3 6pan Eyeshadow Palettes. Out of the x3 colour story I purchased 01 Uptown Girl. The mini palettes have the same formulations as the bigger palette, which to me is a great thing! It shows consistency of formulation as a brand and really makes me excited to try out more products from them! The mattes are super soft and give so much pigment, they easily blend and I've never experience any patchiness. The only thing that makes me shade is that the pressed design disappeared on the first use!


Egypt Adventure Blusher (02 Coral Garden & 03 Burnt Rubble) For this collection JudyDoll released x3 blush for this collection. I only purchased x2 out of the x3, Coral Garden is a beautiful bright peach pink with a champagne shimmer shade very similar to the famous NARS Orgasmic blush while Burnt Rubble is a stunning burnt mauve shade with gold shimmers. The blushes in this collection are absolutely gorgeous both in terms of formulation and design! The texture is stiff but also soft, which to me is great! It has good enough body to keep the details of the design and yet disperses enough product onto the brush for application. The pigmentation and colour payoff is wonderful and blends so well, definitely very forgiving if applied to much it can easy be blended out for a flushed look! So far, JudyDoll's powder products are really impressing me!


Egypt Adventure Highlighter (01 Champagne Game & 02 Pearlescent Light) For this collection JudyDoll released x2 face highlighter for this collection. TBH this was one of the products I was most excited to try! I've read some very good things on JudyDoll's highlighter and honestly it really didn't disappoint. Champagne Game is lovely champagne shade with a pink and gold undertones, while Pearlescent Light is a beautiful yellow/gold shimmer with an iridescent undertone. Both shades has the same formulation and the texture, I like that the press design does remain even after several uses! The formula is really what I expected, it's not a subtle highlight neither is it blinding but can be layered to achieve that effect. It layers very well on others products, and pigmentation is great! Overall a really great highlighter and definitely would love trying out more from them.


Egypt Adventure Water Lip Tint (231) For this collection JudyDoll released a Water lip Tint in x5 different shades for this collection. At first, I wasn't sure if I wanted to purchase this because it looked more like a gloss than a lip tint. But to my surprise it's actually not a bad formula at all! It reminds me so much of the YSL Water Stain, but just less fragrance which is a great thing! The shade I selected (231) is a neutral peachy pink shade, that will suit with majority of skin tone. The formula has like a very very light gloss texture, it's not sticky and doesn't move around on the lips like a typical gloss does and is super comfortable on the lips. Pigmentation is amazing and as a tint/stain it works super well, leaving my lips with a good amount of colour after the product is gone without making it feel dry. I've had several experiences with the YSL Water Stain, drying out my lips due to fragrance/alcohol in the formula. Overall, I really really surprised with this lip product and how it performed! Will definitely be looking more into this Brand!


Overall, I think it's a very decent collection, there were some hits and misses from this collection but not necessarily bad. Perfect Diary's is a decent brand to me with such good affordable products. The face palette was kinda a let down to me, but it might not be for someone else. On the other hand, I really did enjoy the pressed powder and lip product very much. The have great formula and met my expectations overall. To me the bundle set is such a great gift to give any Cardcaptor Sakura fan's and just a great gift for all makeup collectors! But if you are thinking of getting the face palette to use, I definitely recommend also looking into more reviews of this collection before you make your choice.


Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more there are Weekly updates and blog posts! For all my Malaysian readers, JudyDoll now has an official Shopee Store if you are curious about this brand and their products! Link is below! Thank you again for reading!

Official Website to Purchase :

SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page