top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

Mac Lunar Luck Collection 2022

Updated: Apr 26, 2023

Mac Lunar Illusion is Mac Cosmetics 2022 Lunar New Year collection. Mac released x4 Liquid Lipsticks (Powder Kiss), x4 Lipsticks (Powder Kiss), x1 highlighter (Extra Dimension Skinfinish), x1 Eyeshadow Palette in this collection all with custom limited edition packaging.


Chinese New Year or also known around the world as Lunar New Year has always been a great time to celebrate, dress up and wear some makeup! I've always loved that Mac and now other cosmetic brands are now bringing out collections or limited editions especially for this time of the year. Seeing curated collections with special packaging just for the festive season just makes me so excited for makeup! If you want to know more on this collection, keep reading!

Concept & Packaging :

Tbh, the packaging is really what intrigued me about this collection but once I knew that majority of the formulas in this collection was their Powder Kiss range, I knew I had to try it. I have purchased other of MAC's previous Lunar collections but this years (2022) collection is by far the best in packaging & aesthetics! The graphics tied with the bright colours & gold touches really make the packaging look stunning but very contemporary at the same time. I love that the colour story didn't really include/focuses on the typical colours of the tiger (red, orange, yellow), the pinks & purple to me give it a feminine touch. The graphic/motif at first look very simple but has a traditional art like look to them giving it a very Pop Culture feel. Overall I love this collection design/art direction for this years collection.



Products :

The images in this post are some of the products I purchased from the Collection.


Made My Fortune Eyeshadow Palette is a classic x9 pan Mac eyeshadow palette. Shades in this palette range from mattes & shimmer glitter texture. The mattes in the palette is MAC's Powder Kiss formula while the shimmer glitter texture is MAC's Dazzleshadow Extreme formula. The matte formulas performed super well, soft to touch & picked up well with the brush without much kickback. It has great pigmentation that is buildable but also so blendable at the same time. The shimmer glitter shades are soft & smooth to the touch, with an almost wet feeling. They don't pick up well with a brush & I recommend using fingertips to apply it, other than that the shimmer glitters are stunning! Has great pigmentation & layers so well to intensify the shine. Overall the palettes colour story is very versatile to me, both cool and warm tones are represented here in the palette and the colour story allows you to go from day to night look as well. I love the look I created & will definitely be using it often! (RM225 / USD36)




SHADE DESCRIPTION

  • Shell We Celebrate: Warm neutral (Powder Kiss)

  • Sunkissed Orange: Camel (Powder Kiss)

  • Born To Rule: Warm bronze (Dazzle Shadow Extreme)

  • 15 Minutes of Flame: Deep orange (Powder Kiss)

  • Made My Fortune: True gold (Dazzle Shadow Extreme)

  • Propitious Poppy: Red (Powder Kiss)

  • Plum What May: Plum (Powder Kiss)

  • Supreme Harmony: Pinky lilac (Dazzle Shadow Extreme)

  • Wish Me Luck!: Medium deep brown (Dazzle Shadow Extreme)


Lunar Luck Powder Kiss Liquid Lipcolour (Fortune Tell Me) For this years Lunar Luck collection MAC released x4 Liquid Lipsticks all in limited edition shades from their Powder Kiss range. The shades are Luck be A Lotus, Fortune Tell Me, Peachy Party & Token of Affection. I purchased the shade Fortune Tell Me which can be described as a muted cool tone pink. The formula has a mousse like whipped texture, that is super creamy but lightweight on the lips & has a velvet like finish. It is very reminiscent or similar to the limited edition Matte Lip Mousse from MAC's x Pony Park Collaboration. The formula has amazing pigmentation with a very comfortable non drying feeling, I also notice that it gives my lips a blurred out effect. Overall, so in love with this formula, it reminds me very much of 3CE is Velvet Lip Tint formula but with better pigmentation! (RM132 / USD27)


Lunar Luck Powder Kiss Lipsticks (Pure Luck) For the Lunar Luck collection Mac released x4 Powder Kiss lipsticks in limited edition shades (Pure Luck, If Wishes were Roses, Push Your Luck & Enveloped in Luck). All x4 shades are in their Powder Kiss formula. I purchased only x1 out of the x4, Pure Luck is described as a Dirty Red but is more of a cool tone red with hints of pink/purple. I love & own many of MAC's Powder Kiss lipstick already & is very familiar with it. The formula is true to their Powder Kiss formula, it has a creamy texture on the lips but with a velvet like finish that glides on the lips effortlessly. It is super lightweight & non drying with great pigmentation. This formula is so great to do a feathered out effect or giving the lips a blurred out look. One of my favourite / top lipstick formulas & kinda wish I got more shades from this collection! (RM101 / USD24)


Lunar Luck Extra Dimension Skinfinish in (Lunar Lights) MAC's Extra Dimension Skinfinish is one of MAC's many cult-loved formulas, and their annual Lunar New Years collection just wouldn't be the same with out it! Lunar Lights is a new limited shade exclusively for this collection, it is described as a Beigey Gold tone which to me is stunning on all skintones. The formula is different compared to previous editions & doesn't stay true to the skinfinish formula. it is abit hard and dryer to the touch. The formula also doesn't really pickup on the brush with easy, but when applied the reflectiveness is stunning. Definitely not the most blinding of highlights but can be built-up to that effect. Overall still a very nice highlighter but the pricing & the amount is where I kinda have an issue with it. It is smaller in size/amount but more expensive compared to previous editions. The embossing is stunning & the packaging is much pretty to me compared to the rest but does it justify the increase in price? But I am happy to have it my collection! (RM176)


Overall I love this collection! It's been awhile since I've been excited for makeup and this collection really ignited something in me. MAC's Powder Kiss range is my absolutely favourite formulation coming from MAC and I love that this collection really showcases that. I recommend ANY product from this collection, definitely won't disappoint! It is such a stunning collection to celebrate the festive season & to start the new year with!


If you guys are interested in the Lunar Luck Collection, you can check them and any of their products on either their official website MAC Malaysia OS. Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more blog posts!



Official Website to Purchase :






SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page