top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

One Brand Wonder : AMUSE Makeup.

AMUSE Makeup is a leading Vegan Korea makeup brand that was founded in 2017 that is privately owned but is backed by Olive Young corp. as a Private Investor. AMUSE focuses on creating not only vegan but also clean & sustainable products. They are inspired by everything Seoul Lifestyle & offer a range of products in trendy designs and shades that inspire users to express themselves through cosmetics without feeling guilty about the environment.


AMUSE has also won many awards such as UMMA's Best Cushion Foundation for 2023 (Korea), Allure's 2021 Best Of Beauty Award for their Lip Tint (Korea), Elle Korea's Beauty Award 2023 for their Lip Tint just to name a few! Also AMUSE has entered Sephora in selected Asian countries such as Malaysia, Singapore & Thailand!


I would classify them as an affordable mid-range brand where their prices are similar or comparable to Western/Asian drug store (Dear Dahlia / 3CE / Dasique) but some of their formula's are similar to middle-high range Korean products. If you want to know more on this Cosmetic brand and some of their products keep reading!


Concept & Packaging :

The entire concept or branding of AMUSE is inspired by the everyday Seoul Lifestyle & majority of their identity / presences to me really captures that. Majority of their packaging is very trendy but also very aesthetically pleasing with subtle elements that really give character to each product.


To me, AMUSE has a very sleek & fresh vibe to their packaging but also has a feminine girly look to them as well. Majority of their packaging is simple & all has a transparent element to them that to me gives a clean look to everything, but also reminds me of the Seoul City Skyline. My favourite product in terms of packaging would be the lip balm, I just love the contemporary shape & the transparent pink just adds a cute element to the packaging.


Overall, I'm really in love with AMUSE overall branding & products in terms of packaging! I rarely ever see any other brands with the same packaging & it's very refreshing to see the level of detail & innovation to create trendy Vegan products!



Products :

The images below are some of the products I purchased from the Collection/Brand.


Vegan Face All Palette (#02 Peach Glow). AMUSE released a x2 6pan Face palette for this products, as all K-Beauty brands do there is a cool tone pink palette along with a warm tone peach palette. The palettes consist of many different types of formulas ranging from x4 Eyeshadows shades with x2 Mattes, x1 Shimmer & x1 Shimmer Glitter along with x1 blush & x1 highlighter. Out of the x2 colour story, I purchased 02 Peach Glow which consist of pretty coral shade, warm browns & peach pink shimmers shades.


The formula of the Mattes (Peach Matte & Ginger Velvet) are super soft and silky but is also abit powdery/chalky at the same time. The mattes abit of kickback but not too much for me to be concern. Both shades have good pigmentation, blended & layered well.


The Shimmer shade (Peach Shimmer) are all soft and silky feel to them. All shades have tiny micro glitters scattered compactly together creating a base to the formula. The pigment is sheer but the shades can be layered & built-up for a nice shine. Not very chunky or your typical type of big glitter formula but very pretty nonetheless. The shimmer glitter shades in my opinion are applied best with finger tips.


The Shimmer Glitter (Peach Aurora) shades are soft & silky but has abit of a stiff & dry texture. The formula has tiny micro-glitters compressed together that give the shades a nice sheen. The shimmer formula gives more of a wash of colour to the lids instead of high-shine reflectiveness. The pigment is sheer but the glitter shade can be layered & built-up for a nice shine. The glitter shades in my opinion are applied best with finger tips.


The Blush (Blushing Blush) is soft but also & silky but has abit of a stiff & dry texture. The blush formula has a sheer matte base with tiny micro-glitters compressed together. The pigmentation of the base peach shades is super sheer & doesn't pick up on my skintone but gives a gold reflective finish that is very beautiful to the skin. The formula blends & builds up very beautifully on top of other products but I notice that the shine/reflectiveness can enhance textured areas like my large pores. Not my favourite formula from this palette, and would have preferred abit more pigment to the base peach shade.


The Highlighter (Peach Glow) is super soft & silky to the the touch that it almost feels like a cream formula, it also picks up / and dispenses product very nicely. The pigmentation of colour is stunning on the skin, sheer at first but buildable giving the skin either a subtle glow or a blinding highlight! The formula sits well on the skin & blends evenly without leaving any harsh lines or patchy-ness. And the powder does not emphasis any skin texture. Overall, a very very nice highlight!


Honestly I do really like the all the shades and find the palette to be perfect for an everyday natural look. The pigmentation was really not bad in my opinion but would maybe prefer some darker shades to make it more versatile for night time looks as well. Overall everything worked well for me except the blush shade that just didn't suit my skintone well.



Jelly Fit Tint (05 Oat Fig) is AMUSE's glossy lip tint that come in a spectrum of various colours. I selected the shades (Oat Fig) which is a beautiful warm milky peachy shade. This lip tint also formulated to have 8 types of hyaluronic acids, peach extract, vitamin E acetate, and 10% vegetable-derived oil to help keep lips hydrated & moisturized.


The formula is lightweight & has a gel like texture which is very typical consistency of alot of lip tints I own. It feels very comfortable, hydrating on the lips & the formula has good pigmentation. It covered my dark spot on my lips with 2layers and gave my lips a nice wash of colour. I do notice that after some time, the initial pigment does fade away slightly after the tinting effect has taken place & the tinting effect does somewhat stay true to it's original shade. The tinting effect is quite immediate, only needing to sit on the skin/lips for a few minutes to see the effect but not as long lasting as other lip tints I own or tried. The formula layers really well without feeling stringy or goopy on the lips and the shine is very nice, not overly glossy but has a nice reflectiveness to the finish. The formula fills in the fines lines giving my lips a pump look. Overall, it's a very good lip tint with good pigmentation & it's conformable & very hydrating!


---


Dew Balm (05 Amuse Girl) is AMUSE's lip balm that comes in a total of x6 shades. I purchased the shade 05 Amuse Girl which can be described as a muted peach pink shade. The Lip balm is also formulated to have Squalane, Apple, Camellia & Jojoba Seed Oil, Vegan Collagen, Vegan Hyaluronic Acid, and Shea Butter.


The consistency is soft with creamy texture that is very lightweight and glides well on the lips. The formula has sheer pigmentation & has good shine that is very comfortable & hydrating on the lips. The coverage is buildable giving the lips a beautiful subtle wash of colour.


Overall it's a very nice moisturizing lip balm with decent pigmentation & super cute packaging! The lip balm really helps when I have chapped lips & last a really long time, definitely recommend!


Dew Velvet Tint (10 Rose Boksoonga) is one of AMUSE's velvet lip tint that come in x8 beautiful colours. I selected the shades (Lake) which is a beautiful cool tone mauve shade. This lip tint also formulated to have 8 Hyaluronic acid & xylitolglucoside to help keep lips soft and moist.


The formula is super lightweight & has a water to velvet like texture which is super interesting. It feels very comfortable, non-drying on the lips & the formula has good pigmentation. The formula has a thin water-base that to me instantly absorbs into the lips while also leaving the tint behind with a velvet matte finish. The tinting effect is quite immediate, only needing to sit on the skin/lips for less than a minutes to see the effect The formula layers really well without feeling heavy or drying at all.


Overall, I am obsessed with this product! It's such an interesting formula & I really love the finish. It feels like the traditional velvet mousse textures but thinner & alot more comfortable! It still gives my lips the soft blurred effect but looks very MLBB! Also the formula becomes transferproof once the product fully sets in the lips! My favourite product out of my pruchase!


----


Soft Cream Cheek (02 Pink Toast) is AMUSE's cream / liquid blush comes in x4 shades. I purchased the shade 02 Pink Toast which can be described as a pretty pink peach shade. The blush is also formulated to have Anti-Oxidants, Peptides & Vitamins.


The formula is lightweight & has a gel like consistency. It has good pigmentation that is blendable & buildable. The soft cream cheek transforms into a velvety powder like finish once it fully sets giving the cheeks a beautiful flush of colour!


As for application, I did struggle with making this product work on makeup & found that there is a slight learning curve and not all application methods can work. The best application I used to make it work on makeup was by applying some product to the back of my hand & using a damp / dry makeup sponge. By applying a thin layer with some very light tapping, I was able to get the product to layer, build & blend well without disturbing or moving any product underneath! If I used my fingers I noticed that the formula tends to be too thick & can tend to pull the layers underneath.


Overall, I really like the formula as a whole but there is a learning curve if wanting to use it on top of makeup. As for the used of it on bare skin, it's a great formula! It gives the skin beautiful colour while looking fresh & flushed at the same time! Can be built-up for a more intense look or blend it out more for a natural wash of colour!


TBH, before coming into this my perception of AMUSE is that it was kinda just an Over-Hyped brand but now that I've tried several of their products I can understand why AMUSE is such a beloved brand. As a fully-fledge Vegan brand, I can understand that their are some limitations but to me AMUSE performed well in terms of formula & performance that I kinda forgot they were ever vegan at all! All their products not only has skincare ingredients but all their packaging has sustainability in mind! Out of all the products, AMUSE performed the best in the lip category & all are stars in my book. My favourite out of the x3 lip products would have to be the Dew Velvet Tint! I'm a sucker for a puffy velvety finish & the formula is so good! Has a water to velvet texture that really tints the lips & is non-drying. Lightweight & once it sets in it's transferproof giving the lips that soft blurred effect! Love it so much, that this product has made it to my handbag! Will grab this if I'm going to site or need to put a mask on for work! As for the Soft Cream cheek, I'm super surprised by it! Has good buildable pigmentation, blends well & transforms into a soft matte finish that gives the cheeks a beautiful flushed looked. As for my least favourite formula would be the blush in the face palette. The Face Palette as a whole is good & the shimmers/Highlighter are stunning, just for me the blush formula was lacking in terms of colour pigmentation & has abit too much shine that it defeats the purpose of being a blush. Other than that, Looove everything about AMUSE! From their concept/mission to their aesthetic/packaging. Hoping to seeing more from them especially more vivid/bolder eyeshadow palettes!



Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. For all my Malaysian Kawanku (friends) I purchased everything from a 3rd-Party Shopee Malaysia Store, but is also available on Sephora MY. And to my international friends AMUSE has many international resellers such as Olive Young & has an Official US Website!


If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more updates and blog posts!

PS. Swatches & Unboxing for all the products here are on my Instagram, if you like to check them out! Instagram Profile Here!



Official Website to Purchase :

11 views0 comments

SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page