top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

One Brand Wonder : BNB Barenbliss.

Barenbliss is a fairly new but rising Korean makeup brand founded by highly-acclaimed makeup artist Jina Kim (김진아) who has over a decade of experience as a makeup artist and the president of Kemosi International Makeup School in South Korea. She believes makeup can always bring magic and joy to all women. Her work has appeared in Korean and Chinese Vogue, ELLE, BAZAAR, as well as cooperative makeup artists of many famous Korean celebrities, Red Velvet, TARA, Sistar etc.


Barenbliss debuted in 2021 launching several products. Their brand concept, identity & philosophy comes from the idea of combining Bare Essentials, No Harm & Bliss Moment (B+N+B) together. Bare Essentials meaning Barenbliss only add natural & technological ingredients that have been certified & all their products in the line contain functional skin ingredients. No Harm philosophy comes from Barenbliss's ingredients that not only adhere to the global cosmetic standard but is also follow EWG safety ingredients certification. Meaning, they have banned more than 2,000 harmful ingredients to the skin & all animal derived ingredients making them a vegan & cruelty-free brand. Bliss Moment comes from the idea of having surprising & pleasant beauty experiences. Barenbliss has carefully designed the fragrance, texture & appearances of the products to better enhance the sense creating a better experience.


Since the brands launch in South Korea, Barenbliss has gained Beauty Editor's Award from Beauty+ & Editor's Recommendation from Allure & GoPick based on the brans high performance & attractive design.


I would classify them to be a Roadstore / Drugstore range brand where their prices are comparable to brans like I'M Meme, Rom&nd, Etude House, etc. If you are interested in knowing more on the products and my thoughts please continue reading!


Concept & Packaging :

The entire concept or branding of Barebliss is based on creating blissful moments with makeup and experiencing joy when using it. All their concepts, colour schemes, packaging, visuals stay very true to their philosophy & identity. Barenbliss not only incorporates fun vibrant colours & shapes to their products but they also add signatures scents that allow the users to fully immerse & enjoy their products as well.


Packaging wise to me it has generic feel TBH, everything I purchased feels so nice to hold and are all aesthetically pleasing to look at but some products just don't stand out in terms of packaging. My favourite packaging would definitely be the Lip bottles along with the Skin Tint / Foundation bottle. Barenbliss to me caters more to the younger generation with their fun & joyful aesthetics.



Products :

The images below are some of the products I purchased from the Collection/Brand.


True Beauty Inside Cushion (02 Medium Blossom Bud) For the initial launch Barenbliss released a cushion under their Miracle Bloom Base collection. The cushion range now comes in x5 shades, originally when it first launched Barenbliss only released x3 shades but now have added x2 lighter shades to the cushion range. I purchased shade 02 Medium Blossom Bud which can be described as a Light Medium tone with neutral undertones.


The formula is lightweight feeling on the skin even though it has a thicker consistency compared to typical cushion foundation. The formula has sheer to medium coverage with a natural semi-matte finish that is very skin like. The cushion to me has a matter finish compared to the skin tint.


The cushion evens out my skin tone but my dark spots are still very visible. The formula builds well & it manage to cover my faded acne marks well with a few layers on those targeted areas without looking cakey. The cushion blends into the skin giving a very natural look but I did notice because the formula is abit thicker in nature, the cushion puff can tend to collect/bunch alot of products in one areas making the cushion & application patchy & hard to layer.


My skin tends to be very oily but by setting the face with a light veil of setting powder along with using a fixing setting spray the cushion lasted more than 8hours. My oils did seep out after a few hours but my foundation stayed in place.


Overall, it's a very nice cushion & worked well for me.


Light It Up Skin Tint (02 Medium Blossom Bud) is Barenbliss foundation that comes in x3 flexible shades and is under their Miracle Bloom Base collection.


I purchased 02 Medium Blossom bud which can be described as a light medium with neutral undertone shade. The shade is very similar to the accompanying cushion but I did notice abit more of a brightening effect compared to the cushion in 02 shade. The formula is super thick, has a heavy scent of floral but with an underlaying chemically scent that can linger for awhile. The skin tint has sheer to medium coverage but to me has more coverage compared to the cushion.


After applying several layers, my skin looks even out & my dark spots were covered well but still slightly visible. The formula is also lightweight but slightly heavier compared to the cushion but still feels comfortable on the skin. The skin tint has a very nice soft-matte finish but with abit of radiance. The skin tint lasted as long as the cushion & held up under a mask just as well, there was a light bit of transfer but not as much as I would normally see.



During application I did notice the same kind of collecting/bunch as the cushion. Since the skin tint is super thick in formula, for application I recommend using a very damp beauty sponge as I found using a lightly damp or even a dry sponge can lead to the skin tint be hard to layer & even look patchy/cakey.


Overall, I think it's a nice skin tint / foundation. I really like the finish, it made the skin look healthy & radiant. My only wish was that the formula wasn't so thick & feels like there is a slight learning curve to the formula.



Start-Over Concealer (02 Fresh Bud) is the complimentary concealer under their Miracle Bloom Base collection. It comes in x3 shades all complimentary to both the cushion & the skin tint. I purchased shade 02 Fresh Bud which can be described as a light medium with neutral undertone shade but I notice it is actually 1-2 shade lighter compared with the cushion & skin tint.


The formula is thick similar to the skin tint and also has a heavy scent of floral but with an underlaying chemically scent. The concealer has sheer to medium coverage and to me was barely able to cover my acne scars along with my dark circles. The formula is to me abit drying, not in the feeling but in the finish. It also did crease in my under-eye quite abit and I did notice that if you leave the concealer on the skin for while without blending, it dries becoming hard to blend & patchy.


Overall, I'm not really into this concealer as a concealer. I think for brightening or highlighting, it's a decent concealer. As someone who has dry under eyes, what worked best for me was to heavily hydrating my under eye area before applying the concealer.


Fortune Cookie Eyeshadow (02 Romantic) is one of Barenbliss x3pan eyeshadow palettes that comes in x4 difference colour stories. I purchased 02 Romantic which colour story from this palette comprises of a neutral midtone pink, a plum shade along with pink copper shade.


The palette consist of x2 Mattes & x1 Shimmers / Glitter shade. The palette to me is very simple but also versatile even though the shades are limited, To me the shades in the palette can create simple everyday looks along with nighttime smoky looks as well.


The matte formulas are soft but can be abit stiff when going in with the brush, I also noticed there can be abit of kickback. The pigmentation is good but needs to be layered to get it's full vibrancy. They blend and also layer well on top of other products. It's very easy formula to work with and it also gives a lot more control to how vibrant or subtle the shade can be. I'm really in love with pink matte shade it doesn't change shade or look chalky on me.


The shimmer / glitter shade it is super soft & buttery and have good pigmentation, it gives a very nice sheen with some very pretty reflectiveness as well. The formula comprises of tiny scattered micro glitter along with the pink copper base shade. The pigmentation is abit sheer but the reflectiveness is so pretty. The shimmer / glitter shade can be easily built-up and layers well on top of other shadows. I find that the shimmer / glitter shades to be best applied using finger tips.


Overall to me it's a good simple palette that can work well for alot of occasions along with complimenting other palettes. I also think it is a very good beginner's palette for someone starting into makeup.


Spark-Tacular Party Blush (03 Ruby Red) is barenbliss single blush product, they released x3 shades, I purchased the shade 03 Ruby Red which is described as a pink coral & warm red shimmer shade and is also the darkest shade out of the range. The shade Ruby Red is such a pretty shade but can be slightly intimidating for the colour. The formulation is soft & smooth but also feels slightly powdery/talcy, there is also abit much kickback when applying. The formula consist of tiny micro-glitters along with a base colour. The pigmentation is good & can be abit too much if being heavy-handed.


The pigmentation of colour is buildable & has a sheen like finish giving the skin a beautiful glow. The blush blends so nicely easily creating a diffused look & the tiny micro-glitter are not very visible after applied on the skin. Overall it's a great blush that gives a healthy glow to the cheeks.


Highlight! Rich Girl in Area (02 Pink Champagne) is Barenbliss powder highlight product that comes in x2 shades. I purchased shade 02 Pink Champagne which is decribed as a peach soft pink shade. The formula is soft & silky but firm to the the touch and picks up / and dispenses product very nicely. The pigmentation of colour is stunning on the skin, sheer at first but buildable giving the skin either a subtle glow or a blinding highlight! The formula sits well on the skin & blends evenly without leaving any harsh lines or patchy-ness. And the powder does not emphasis any skin texture. Overall, a very very nice highlight! Not as bright or sparkly as the Glint Highlighter I own & love but this Barenbliss highlight has a very nice sheen that can also be very blinding. Definitely recommend!


Peach Makes Perfect Lip Tint (03 Take Change) is Barenbliss bestseller product up to date, it is a glossy lip tint that comes in x6 beautiful shades. I purchased 03 Take Change which is described to be a shiny red cherry shade. The formula is lightweight & has a gel like texture which is very typical consistency of alot of lip tints I own. It feels very comfortable & hydrating on the lips. The formula has great pigmentation, it covered my dark spot on my lips and gave my lips a nice wash of colour. I do notice that after some time, the initial pigment does fade away slightly after the tinting effect has taken place. The tinting effect is quite immediate but not as long lasting as other lip tints I own or tried. The formula layers really well without feeling stringy or goopy on the lips and the shine is very nice, not overly glossy but has a nice reflectiveness to the finish. The formula fills in the fines lines giving my lips a pump look. Overall, one my favourite product from the collection & will be purchasing more shades!


Cherry Makes Cheerful Lip Velvet (06 Summer Sunset) is Barebliss velevet liquid lipstick/tint that comes in x6 shades. I purchased the shade 06 Summer Sunset which is described to be an muted orange brown shade. The formula is a thick mousse like consistency that is very typical of K-Beauty velvet lip products. The pigmentation is actually sheer but layers wells, coats the lips evenly & does fills in the fine lines on my lips. The formula is not drying and super light-weight on the lips and I like that I can create a very soft but blurred out lip look very easily when I just want a light wash of colour. My favourite method to applying this is to apply thin layers at first, then using my fingers to spread & tap the product into my lips for a soft blur effect. Overall I like this product very much from the packaging to the formula.


Berry Makes Comfort Lip Matte (04 Maple Mingle) is Barenbliss matte liquid lipstick with a that comes in x8 shades. I purchased the shade 04 Maple Mingle which is described to be a rich brown maple shade. I would say the formula has somewhat of a traditional liquid lipstick formula but dries down to a matte velvet feel. The formula is a thin like consistency compared to the Lip Velvet and the pigmentation is actually very opaque, the colour coats the lips evenly, but it does sink into the fine lines on my lips. The formula is non-drying and super light-weight on the lips but is also not-transferproof. Overall, it's a very good lip product that isn't too matte but is comfortable on the lips that gives great pigmentation.


Full Bloom Transferproof Matte Tint (06 Sassy Season) is Barenbliss's newest lip product that comes in x6 shades. I purchased the shade Sassy Season which is described to be a pink coral shade. I would say the formula is similar if not closest to a traditional liquid lipstick formula. The finish is a matte powder look that is very comfortable & non-drying to the lips. The pigmentation & colour payoff is really opaque, being able to cover my lips evenly with one layer but the formula also sinks into fine lines on my lips. The formula dried very fast but does take abit to fully dry around the edges & if multiple layers are applied. After the formula fully dries, the products & colour is transferproof & stays put even with multiple swipes of the finger and even sipping water from a glass but does come off if eating oily food but that is to be expected. Overall I like this product very much from the packaging to the formula and is definitely my favourite product from Barenbliss, will definitely be purchasing more shades.


Overall I think Barenbliss excel more in their lip product category along with their colour products. For me my least favourite product would have to be the concealer and it just didn't work the way I wanted it to for me. Their base products were okay in my book, I could make it work for me but had abit of a learning curve to it. I am excited to see more from them and the lip products will definitely be products I'll be continuing reaching for.


Barenbliss is currently selling in Watson Malaysia Stores but online buyers who are interested can purchase from their office Barenbliss website, where they offer international shipping. If you are from the wonderful country of Malaysia or Indonesia, they have an official Shopee store. Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more updates and blog posts!


Official Website to Purchase :







SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page