top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

One Brand Wonder : Hince.

Updated: Apr 27, 2023

Hince is a rising Korean makeup brand co-founded by Kim Hyun Joo (itsmagk), who can often be seen as the model/visuals for the Brand. Kim Hyun Joo created Hince out of the idea that she wasn't able to find the the makeup look and formulas she wanted. She noticed that amongst the local K-Beauty brands they shared the same colour story and looks, she set out to create a Beauty Brand that would be less typical and more creative while staying true to their main goal of enhancing ones own beauty instead of covering it up.


Hince debuted in January of 2019 launching several products. I would classify them to be a high-end brand where their prices are comparable to western Sephora brand prices (Rare Beauty) and also comparable in prices with Korean High-End / Concept Brands (3CE). If you are interested in knowing more on the products and my thoughts please continue reading!



Concept & Packaging :

The entire concept or branding of Hince is the idea of enhancing ones own beauty without covering it up. That is why Hince created formulas that are sheer but buildable that are very true to their concept. Packaging wise to me it has a very artistic feel, the packaging uses geometric lines and shapes but very subtly and not overly done. I also feel Hince has such a unique approach when it come to colour choices that are very unique and remind me of luxury beauty tones. The packaging colour is a dusty lavender but also has touches of rose gold giving the packaging a very feminine sophisticated vibe. Honestly, the shape and aesthetics of the foundation bottle is really what interested me into finding out more about Hince. I have never seen a Korean Brand do packaging and colour story as well as Hince and I love every aspect of Hince. I'm definitely a huge fan of their branding & aesthetics!


Products :

Below are some of the products I purchased from the Collection/Brand.


Second Skin Foundation (24 Buff) Hince recently released their first foundation that comes in x5 shades. Even though x5 shades are to me not nearly enough shades to represent all sking tones, it is actually commendable in the K-Beauty world to release more than x3 shades. I purchased the darkest/deepest shade 24 Buff but was slightly too light for me, I did notice that the foundation does oxidize making the shade abit more wearable for me. The coverage is sheer to maybe a medium coverage but my dark spots were still very clearly visible underneath several layers, I normally do spot concealing where I need to before using sheer foundations like this. The formula has the standard consistency foundation, slightly thick with some body to it and has a powdery fresh scent. It sits on the skin so beautifully, not settling in my fine lines but also layers / builds well without looking patchy or cakey. The formula has a semi-matte finish with a skin like effect, I notice that since it's semi-matte it keeps my oils to a minimum after some wear time. Overall, I think it is a very nice natural foundation and I love how it looked on the skin and can't stop looking at the stunning bottle! (RM140)



New Depth Eyeshadow Palette (01 Gentle & Firm) is one of Hince's first eyeshadow palette product, they released two x8pan eyeshadow palette that has various shades ranging from mattes, shimmers to glitters when they first launched. I purchased 01 Gentle & Firm which has a colour story is perfect for summer and has abit of a beachy vibe, the shades ranges from your warm to cool tone beige and browns with a pop of teal as the statement shade and a iridescent glitter shade making this palette very fun but wearable at the same time. In this palette there are x7 types of formulation in the palette, there are x3 mattes, x1 matte shimmers, x2 shimmers, x1 chunky shimmer and x2 different types of glitters. The matte shadows are super soft but abit stiff to the touch. They have great blend and pigmentation that can be easily built-up. As for the matte shimmers, they are also super soft but have tiny micro glitters. The pigmentation has the same base formula as the matte shadows and to be honest, this is my least liked formula for eyeshadow because it leaves so much fallout. The shimmer shades are soft & buttery and have great pigmentation, not very shiny but has leaves more of a sheen. For the chunky glitter formula, it is soft but has abit of grit but has alot more shine compared to the rest of the shimmers. As for the glitter formulas, the first is soft but dry to the touch and has less pigmentation to it, instead is the kind of glitter formula that leaves a wash of glitters to the lids. As for the last glitter this is more of chucky glitter with it's own wet base, that is best applied using finger tips. It's such a stunning shade and has great reflectiveness, it picks up and also dispenses well when used. Overall I'm so surprised and very impressed with the quality of the shades and formulation of this palette. To me it's an amazing eyeshadow palette coming from a K-Beauty Brand that can rival western brands. To me it is the best K-Beauty eyeshadow palette I've come across and will be using it alot more! (RM145)


Mood Enhancer Liquid Matte (Own Skin) is Hince bestseller product up to date, it is a matte liquid lipstick/tint with a velvet feel that comes in x10 shades. I purchased Own Skin which is described to be a warm nude beige shade. I would say the formula is somewhat similar to 3CE Velvet lip Tint but feels more velvety in comparison. The formula is a mousse like consistency and the pigmentation is actually very nice, the colour coats the lips evenly, it does fills in some of the fine lines on my lips. The formula is not drying and super light-weight on the lips and I like that I can create a very soft but blurred out lip look very easily when I just want a light wash of colour. Overall I like this product very much from the packaging to the formula and I would consider purchasing more shades. (RM70)


Hince honestly really surprised me, and I've fallen in love with them, from the branding to the formulas I think Hince is an amazing K-Beauty brand. They do fall more on the high-end side but their formula's to me really justify the prices and their whole aesthetics and concept is stunning. I really loved all the products I purchased and will continue to use them. Their are definitely one of my top K-Beauty brands that is worth looking out for.


Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other posts, or come back for more updates and blog posts soon!




SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page