top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

One Brand Wonder : I'M Meme (MBX formerly known as Memebox)

Updated: Apr 27, 2023

I'M Meme is a korean cosmetic brand under the corporation of MBX (Memebox). Memebox originally started as a makeup / skincare subscription box serving customers with korean/asian products. MBX (Memebox) has several other cosmetic companies under their umbrella such as Kaja Beauty, Pony Effect, I Dew Care & Nooni If you guys didnt know. I'M Meme is an affordable Road Store / Drug Store makeup line, with vibrant and fun packaging. It was originally sold only for the Asian market, while Kaja Beauty was for the western markets but now I believe it is available for all. I'M Meme has fun and vibrant packaging with some hidden gems products with great prices!


I would classify them as an affordable brand where their prices are similar or comparable to Western/Asian drug store (Etude House / Nyx / Milani) but some of their formula's are similar to middle range / high-end Korean products. If you want to know more on this Cosmetic brand and some of their products keep reading!



Concept & Packaging :

I'M Meme's packaging to be honest is nothing special, I was more intrigued whether the quality was or could match Kaja Beauty for the price. There's nothing wrong with the packaging at all, its sleek and modern with vibrant colours which are very consistent with Asian makeup packaging. But there are some products for example like the I'M Multi Lip Matte Crayon that is so fun and reminds me of my childhood schooling days. Material wise majority of the product components are made out of plastic which are very standard to how makeup is made but the plastic I think because of its reflectiveness makes it look cheap. Other than that I do feel like some of their packaging is very thoughtful and also innovative.



The images in this post are some of the products I purchased from the Collection.



Products :

I'M Hidden Card Palette (01 Lucky Card, 02 Love Card & 03 Red Card) is a compact eyeshadow palette that holds x9 eyeshadows ranging from mattes to shimmer and x1 blusher. (RM97)


01 Lucky Card is the first palette from the range and is the only palette that has all matte eyeshadow formulations. Its a very cool tone neutral palette ranging from creme, medium browns, pastel pink and orange to deeper browns. The blush in the palette also is a very light dusty coral. The matte formulation is soft and smooth but lack abit of pigmentation and weartime before fading. It blends so nicely and the colours are very buildable but has alot of kickback. The only downside is some of the shades are abit muddy or too light for my skintone and the pansize is super small. But overall, I think its a great matte palette for someone with lighter skintone than mine. The formula is beautiful, will definitely use the shades that I can from this palette!


02 Love Card is the second palette that has only x1 matte shade while the rest are shimmer formulas, even the blusher has tiny micro glitters. The shades for this palette range from cool tone pinks and peach shades to dark browns. The blush in this palette is a very very light dusty creme shade, that is not noticable on my skintone. The only matte shade is a dark brown and has the same formula as the mattes in the 01 palette. The shimmers have 3 different types of formulas, one formula where the eyeshadow just has tiny micro glitters that spread out giving a wash of glitters. Another formula where there is more pigment and less micro glitters that it looks like a sheen and another formula that has a base colour with micro glitters on top. Overall I didn't think I would like this palette, because of the majority of shimmer shades but I really liked the look I created using this palette! It was a very soft romantic looks, which to me was so beautiful! It definitely is not the most pigmented palette to use but if you are looking for a minimal effortless romantic looks, this is great!


03 Red Card is the third palette from the range that has x3 mattes, x2 matte glitter and x4 shimmers shades. The shades for this palette range from cool tone taupe and pink shades and dark browns to golden bronze shimmer shades. The blush in this palette is a bright cool tone red shade, and overall I would have to say this palette leans more to the cooler tone spectrum. The matte/matte glitter shades all have the same texture and formula as the other x2 palettes, while the shimmers are just the same as the 02 Love Card Palette. They are soft to the touch, but lack abit of pigmentation and staying power but the layering is super nice. The only shade I did have an issue with is the center middle shade (Blooming fire) which was super dry and has really no pigment at all, ashame because the shade is so pretty. The blush in this palette is pretty much the same formula as the previous palette, initially I thought the blush shade was rather bright & intimidating, but since it's not that pigmentated it does blend out to give a very buff/flushed of colour to the cheeks. Other than that, I like this palette as well. To me it is a very versatile palette that can work on a range of skin tones as well as create simple everyday & shimmery nighttime looks.



I'M Heart Shaper Blush (01 Beloved Red, 02 Crush on Coral & 03 Blushed Pink) is a cushion blush with a heart applicator very similar or almost identical to Kaja Beauty's Cheeky Stamp Blendable Blush. I'M Meme only released x3 shades for this items and the shades are very typical of Korean cream blush shades. Formulation wise is also very similar, has decent pigment but the colour definitely needs to be built up. Blends wells and sets to a nice powder finish giving the skin a nice flushed natural look. I did find that you have to work fast in blending, and I feel it's preferably better to do x1 cheek at a time if not the product can set very quickly making it look patchy as times. The formulation does have a slight learning curve but once you get the hang of it, it can be a very nice cream/liquid blush.


* As of writing this, I did notice that these I'M Heart Shaper Blush are no longer available, I believe it's because they wanted to push this product branding to Kaja Beauty making it their signature product.



I'M Tictoc Lipstick Satin (05 Coral Tutu, 07 Pink Bomber & 08 Brick Slip) is one of I'M Meme Matte Lip product that comes in x10 shades. Again the packaging and applicator is similar to Kaja Beauty's Heart Melters but product wise is very different. I purchased x3 shades out of the range, 05 is a warm tone pink coral while 07 shade is cool tone mauve and 08 is a nude orange brown shade. The formula is creamy but still has some drag to it and has a powder matte finish. It's lightweight on the lips and has very good pigmented, it can be worn feathered out to give lips a soft blurred look or can be layered to get maximum opacity with a matte velvet look. I think it's actually a good matte lipstick formula that is not drying and doesn't leave my lips uncomfortable. I also really love the colour selections and find some of them to be very unique! (RM47)



I'M Mystery Blur Tint (03 Mystery Mandarin, 04 Mystery Berry & 05 Mystery Plum) is one of I'M Meme lip product that comes in x10 shades. I purchased x3 shades out of the range, 03 is a nude burnt orange, 04 is a bubblegum pink shade while 05 is deep plum shade. For me the formulation is so creamy but lightweight, it has an almost whipped feeling on the lips. I also feel like because of the puffy texture it fills in the fine lines on lips, making it look fuller. It does set after awhile but not to a matte, more to velvet finish. I find the lighter tones blend better compared to the deeper shades, 05 was abit patchy. To be honest i really enjoy this kind of formula, definitely my favourite product from I'M Meme the only downside is you don't get alot of product! (RM47)



Overall I enjoyed everything I purchased, just need to work more with the cushion/creme blush to really make it work with makeup. But so lovely when applied on bare skin on those no makeup days. As for the lip products I tried, I really love them all! Out of the two the Mystery Blur Tint is my preferred everyday lip formula, I just really love my whipped lip formulas! Other than that, really excited to see what other products they come out with and will continue to explore more products in the near future! Next on the MBX (Memebox) series is Kaja Beauty!


If you guys are interested in I'M Meme, you can check them and any of their products on the YesStyle website! If you are from the beautiful country of Malaysia you can check them out at their Shopee Official Store. Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more blog posts!


Official Website to Purchase :





SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page