top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

One Brand Wonder : Kaja Beauty (MBX formerly known as Memebox)

Part 2 of my MBX (Memebox) OBW Blog Series! In this blog we will be reviewing Kaja Beauty and their products! As you already know, Kaja Beauty is under the corporation of MBX (Memebox). Memebox originally started as a makeup / skincare subscription box serving customers with korean/asian products. MBX (Memebox) has several other cosmetic companies under their umbrella such as Kaja Beauty, Pony Effect, I Dew Care & Nooni If you guys didnt know. Kaja Beauty in 2019 won Allure Best of Beauty award winner for their Beauty Bento Eyeshadow Trio.


Kaja Beauty can be considered as a middle range makeup line, with high performing cruelty free & vegan products together with vibrant, fun and innovative packaging. Unlike I'M Meme, Kaja Beauty was originally sold only for the Western market, where it was only available at Sephora in the United States but now can be bought from worldwide official resellers. Kaja Beauty has fun and vibrant packaging with great western formulas that sometimes Korean brands are lacking! If you want to know more on this Cosmetic brand and some of their products keep reading!



Concept & Packaging :

Kaja Beauty's packaging is really to me like I'M Meme but sometimes I'M Meme can be abit "gimmicky" but Kaja focuses more now on innovative, on-the-go packaging with bright vibrant Korean colour tones. Material wise majority of the product components are made out of plastic which are very similar to I'M Meme but because of their matte / non-reflective finish, it does make it look more expensive in perceived value. Kaja Beauty to me not only focuses on innovation but also making the experience of makeup fun and cute! Majority of their products have a very interesting application method that really makes Kaja Beauty known for.

The images in this post are some of the products I purchased from the Collection.


Products :


Beauty Bento (02 Orange Blossom, 03 Toasted Caramel, 06 Poppy Champagne, 07 Glowing Guava & 08 Chocolate Dahlia) is a stacked, creamy, powder eyeshadow in curated trios of shimmers, mattes or combinations of matte and shimmer shades. They have currently released x13 different Trios, and I purchased x5 our of the range. First off, I must say, all of their Trio's have a beautiful colour arrangements and having only x3 shades is really simple enough to be able to create a full simple look. I also love that it's compact making it easy for storage and travel. As for the formula, the mattes are soft and super pigmented (very surprising coming form a Korean Brand), but some has abit of kickback in the pan. The mattes blend very nicely and the colours are very buildable. For the shimmers formulations, they have great pigmentation & shine, but can be abit flaky to the touch and do recommend using fingertips for application. The shimmer fomulas adhere/layer well on the skin and on other products. Overall, honestly I think Kaja Beauty has amazing eyeshadow formulas that are more to the western quality and I understand why this product was awarded Allure Best of Beauty award winner in 2019. (USD21)



Cheeky Stamp (01 Coy, 02 Saucy & 07 Spicy) is Kaja Beauty's version of a cushion blush with a heart applicator very similar or almost identical to I'M Meme's version. I'M Meme only released x3 shades but Kaja Beauty has x7 beautiful shades that range from neutral pinks to mauves that I feel will suite a variety of skintones. Formulation wise is also very similar, has decent pigment but the colour definitely needs to be built up. Blends wells and sets to a nice powder finish giving the skin a nice healthy natural look. I did find that you have to work fast in blending, and I feel it's preferably better to do x1 cheek at a time if not the product can set very quickly making it look patchy as times. I did notice that you have to be gentle when applying on makeup because it can tend to move product underneath. The formulation does have a slight learning curve but once you get the hang of it, it can be a very nice cream/liquid blush. (USD24)



Mochi Glow Bouncy Highlighters (01 Toy Alien & 02 Prism) is Kaja Beauty's powder-gel highlighter feels like a cream and finishes like a powder. These highlighters come in x4 shades, the shades I purchased are Toy Alien which is a stunning cool tone white gold while Prism is a beautiful iridescent like pink shade. The formula is soft and bouncy but alot stiffer compared to Colourpop's shock highlighters. There is also tiny micro-glitters dispersed in the formula, I also noticed that Toy Alien is has great pigmented that is buildable enough to give an almost blinding highlight, while Prism has more of a sheer base that gives a wash of colour with micro glitters. The formula is very nice on the skin and has no patchiness but can sometimes emphasis textures on the skin. Overall, it's a decent highlight for a more natural look. (USD19)



Heart Melter Lip Gloss Stick (02 Sweet Talk & 05 Hunny Bun) is Kaja Beauty's heart-shaped gloss stick that comes in x9 shades. Again the packaging and applicator is similar to I'M Meme's TicToc Satin Lipstick but product wise is very different. I purchased x2 shades out of the range, 02 is a cute bubblegum pink shade while 05 shade is pink nude shade. The formula is creamy with no drag on the lips when applied. It's lightweight on the lips and has amazing pigmented, it doesn't get stringy nor does it ever feel sticky to wear. The formula to me reminds me of a more traditional creme lipstick with medium shine instead of a lip gloss formula. Overall, to me it's a really great product, I really like this formula as compared to traditional lip gloss but it just doesn't give enough shine(USD17)



Cushy Vibe High Pigment Lip Stain (03 Silk Robe & 05 Chiffon) is one of I'M Meme lip product that comes in x6 shades. I purchased x2 shades out of the range, 03 Silk Robe is a cooltone mauve shade, while 05 Chiffon is pink plum shade. For me the formulation is so smooth but lightweight, it has an almost whipped or mouse like feeling on the lips, that is very similiar or identical to I'M Meme's Mystery Blur Tint. The formula has great pigmentation and I also feel like because of the puffy texture it fills in the fine lines on lips, making it look fuller. It does set after awhile but not to a matte, more to velvet finish. To be honest I really enjoy this kind of formula, definitely my one of my favourite lip formulas, abit sad that they discontinued it but if you all are looking for other options I highly recommend checking I'M Meme's Mystery Blur Tint!


* As of writing this, I did notice that these Cushy Vibe Lip Stains are no longer available, I believe it's because the formula is too similar to I'M Meme's Mystery Blur Tint and decided to discontinue the product due to conflicting prices/marketing.



Overall I really enjoyed everything, Kaja Beauty really does excel in Korean cosmetics but with western formulas and to me has really helped in globalizing K-Beauty, since they are sold at Sephora USA / Canada. Out of all the products, I really love their Beauty Bento Eyeshadow Trio and definitely the must-have product to get from them! Next on the MBX (Memebox) series is Pony Effect!


If you guys are interested in Kaja beauty, you can check them and any of their products on their Kaja Beauty official website! If you are from the beautiful country of Malaysia, they currently don't have an Official purchase website but can be found for purchase on various online market places (Shopee / Lazada). Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more blog posts!



Official Website to Purchase :






SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page