top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

One Brand Wonder : Kamelia Cosmetics.

Kamelia Cosmetics is a vegan and cruelty-free Malaysian cosmetic inspired by all things mermaid, the brand was founded in 2016 by Kamelia Nisha who combined her two obsessions, the love for mermaids and an enthusiasm for make-up together. Kamelia cosmetic's main mission & focus is to enrich merbabe’s lives with safe, affordable and trendy beauty products. Kamelia Cosmetics has also been awarded Beauty Insider (Malaysia) Best of Beauty 2023 in the category, Best Liquid Foundation (Blogger's Choices Award)!


Kamelia Cosmetic's has launched several products to date which include Foundations, several different lip products, blushes, mascaras & even beauty tools. I would classify them as one of the most affordable local brand & majority of all their products come in miniaturize sizes which not only helps to keep the prices down but easy for touch ups & travel.


If you want to know more on this Local Cosmetic brand and some of their products keep reading!


Concept & Packaging :

Kamelia Cosmetic's is inspired by all thing Mermaid & is very apparent in their branding & Identity. Their main colour is Pink that is used in their main Logo (Website, Social Media) but is also seen on many of their product packaging. Other products also have mermaid / ocean themed elements like scales or shells in gold that give a very elegant look. All of Kamelia Cosmetic's products feels very pretty & cute to hold. Overall, I love the packaging & all the details & small elements of this cute & girly brand!



Products :

The images below are some of the products I purchased from the Collection/Brand.

Mini Mermaid Skin Flawless Filter Foundation (Praline), is Kamelia's Cosmetic's most popular / loved product to date! It is a liquid foundation that is said to help the skin with brightening & anti-aging ingredients. It is infused with Vitamin C, Green Tea Extract, Camellia Seed Oil and Peach Flower Oil. This liquid foundation comes in x5 shades, I picked the shades Praline which is a very good match for my Light Olive skintone.


The formula is very lightweight & has the slightly runny consistency. The formula has a solid medium coverage that is easy buildable, blendable & layers well both under & on top of other products. The foundation is said to be a demi-matte finish but to me leans more towards a natural slightly dewy finish that is very skin like. The foundation did a great job at evening out my skin tone but my dark circles are still visible. The formula builds beautifully & it manage to cover my faded acne marks well with a few layers on those targeted areas without looking cakey. For me, I would still have to set this foundation with powder because even though it states to be a demi-matte finish, this foundation did not fully set & felt slightly tacky even after some time. As for wear time, this foundation still looked good even after 5-6 hours however my oils did manage to seep through but the foundation still stayed in place & didn't feel greasy. The formula also works well with both sponge & brush application. I recommend using a dense brush for better coverage but also recommend using a damp sponge for blending applications.


Overall, I'm impressed by the formula and I think it's a solid foundation that can work for both dry & oily skin types. Definitely a foundation formula that I recommend if you are on a budget and hope Kamelia Cosmetic's comes out with more shades so everyone can enjoy this formula!


Aqua Gurl Lip Tint (Nikki). is one of Kamelia Cosmetic's recent releases. It is a Lip Tint that comes in x3 shades. The Aqua Gurl Lip Tint is Infused with Avocado Oil & Camellia Oil to help keep lips moist & hydrated. I purchased the shade Nikki which is described as a soft berry pink shade.


The Aqua Gurl Lip Tint has a gel like texture that is lightweight and also feels very thin on the lips. It is very comfortable & has good pigmentation, it covered my dark lips and gave it a nice wash of colour. The tinting effect is very immediate and also very effective & is long lasting throughout the day. The formula layers really well without feeling stringy or goopy on the lips and there is a slight shine to the finish. The lip tint also doesn't maintain it's original shade / colour but instead turns to a darker berry shade on the lips. I notice that after abit of time the formula sinks into the lip leaving the tint but also making the lips feel moisturized. I also notice that once the tinting effect fully absorbs into the lips, the formula is transferproof.


Overall, I really really love this formula and it's becoming my current one of top lasting lip tint! The tinting effect is super strong & it can last a very long time! It also doesn't feels drying & is very comfortable to wear. I really hope Kamelia Cosmetic's comes out with more diverse shades!


Mini Mermaid Matte Lip Creme (Harmony) is Kamelia Cosmetic's liquid lipstick that comes in x7 shades. The formula is infused with shea butter, vitamin E, sunflower seed oil and jojoba oil. I purchased the shade Harmony which is described as a rose brown shade.


The formula has very good pigmentation & is also lightweight feeling on the lips. It has a slightly thick consistency that reminds me of 2015 liquid lipstick formulas and with x1 layer, my dark lips are well covered. The liquid lipstick is said to have a soft matte finish once it sets after 1-2 minutes but found that for me it never fully sets & has a slight sheen. The formula is comfortable but I also experienced abit of dryness after some wear time & the formula can cling onto dry skin / patches.


Overall, this product & it's formula is not for me. Even though it has great colour & pigment, it took a really long time for the product to start setting & even after several minutes (more than 10minutes) the formula wouldn't fully set. If I pressed / smacked my lips together, some areas would stick together creating a patchy mess. I also want to note on the scent, it has an overpowering chemically scent that gave me a headache every time I wore it.



Mini Mermaid Queen Gloss (Leah) is Kamelia Cosmetic's lip gloss that comes in x5 shades. The formula is infused with shea butter, vitamin E, sunflower seed oil and jojoba oil. I purchased the shade Leah which is described as a warm medium pink shade.


The formula has a gel like consistency that feels very lightweight but also surprisingly does not bleed. It has good pigmentation and was able to cover my dark lips with x2 coats. The formula has a non-sticky feeling and even after several layers the formula didn't get stringy or goopy. The Lip Gloss has very nice shine / reflectiveness that makes the lips look juicy but I noticed the pigment in the formula sinks & collects into fine lines that is very noticeable even on top of other products & it can emphasizes the fine lines on the lips. I also noticed, the pigment can be patchy after pressing / smacking the lips together & doesn't even out after time. The formula is very comfortable to wear & also hydrating to the lips and last long even after a few hours of wear time (if not eating / drinking).

Overall, to me it is an ok hydrating lip gloss & the formula has it's pro's & cons in my opinion. I love that it has a good amount of pigment, doesn't bleed, is lightweight & also hydrating on the lips. But the separation of the pigment to the base formula & patchiness is abit of a deal breaker for me.


Overall, there are some hit's & misses for me with all the products I purchased & tried. My hit's & stars out of everything I purchased is the Mermaid Skin Foundation along with the Aqua Gurl Lip Tint! The formula for both impressed & exceeded my expectation and have made it to my "top shelf". As for the misses, it was the Liquid Matte lipstick & the Lip Gloss. Both products didn't meet my expectation in formula & performance and I don't think I will be reaching for either. Kamelia Cosmetic's as a whole is a decent local brand in my opinion, majority if not all their products have skin-care ingredients and some of their products are hidden gems that are worth the price!


Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. For all my Malaysian Kawanku (friends) I purchased everything from Kamelia Cosmetic's Official Shopee Malaysia Store, and Unfortunately to my international friends Kamelia Cosmetic's has yet to do international shipping but hopefully they will soon!


If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more updates and blog posts!



PS. Swatches & Unboxing for all the products here are on my Instagram, if you like to check them out! Instagram Profile Here!



Official Website to Purchase :

SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page