top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

One Brand Wonder : Mad For Makeup X BT21 (Line Friends).

Mad For Makeup is an Indonesian makeup brand that focuses on Acne + Skincare Makeup for S.E.A skintones and claims to have Indonesia's No.1 Acne Concealer. They launched in 2019 with several products and has been featured in magazines like Harper's Bazaar Indonesia & Cosmopolitan Indonesia.


Their philosophy is Make Beauty Kinder, where they Co-Create Sunkiss Acne Friendly Makeup for a Kinder Future of Beauty. Mad For Makeup has x5 main pillars in their philosophy which is Truth (No Bullshit), Self-Acceptance (Embracing who you are), Listen to the Community (Co-creating with our Community), Love For All (No Discrimination) & Rebel's First (People come first before profit). With all this Mad For Makeup strives to develop products that respects the skin, has ingredients that make a difference & remove any ingredients that can cause cancer, irritation or mess with hormones. They adopt a European Standard to any possible issues & tolerate very little unless new research proves otherwise.


In this BT21 Collection, Mad For Makeup released x1 8pan Eyeshadow Palette, x7 shades of Lip Tints, x9 shades of their concealer, x2 different clay mask, x1 booster essence, makeup sponges of different colours, along with hand mirrors of different design all in limited edition packaging representing the characters for BT21. Some products come in bundles that can be purchased together to get extra gifts.


I would classify them to be a Roadstore / Drugstore range brand where their prices are comparable to brans like I'M Meme, Rom&nd, Etude House, etc. If you are interested in knowing more on the products and my thoughts please continue reading!


Concept & Packaging :

The entire concept or branding of this collaboration is so fun just perfect for spring time (even though it was launched at the end of 2022). The entire collections theme is camping/outdoors & having all the BT21 Characters with a theme is to me a nice touch. The packaging main base colour is set in pale yellow with hints of the characters as a nice splash of contrasting colour. The collection is bright but also very muted giving it such a fun chilled-out almost cozy vibe. The colour story for the products also follow suit with the entire scheme & I love how they incorporated song tittles within their eyeshadow palette. Overall, I think Mad For Makeup did a great job creating/curating/designing the collection, it has a very cohesive feel throughout.


Products :

The images in this post are some of the products I purchased from the Collection.


BT21 Blendable Eye Palette Made For Makeup released x1 8pan Eyeshadow Palette for this collab, the palettes consist of x4 Mattes, & x4 Shimmers. This palette is formulated with no talc and is also infused with sunflower & olive extract.


The formula of the Mattes are soft but can also feel abit dry at the same time. They have great pigmentation & colour payoff but the shades do need to be packed on to reach full opacity. The matte formula layer well & has little to no kickback but I notice that the matte formulas didn't blend so smoothly & took abit of extra effort.


The Shimmer shades are soft & has a silky texture. The formula has tiny micro-glitters scattered together with a base colour that give the shades some dimension & extra reflectiveness. The shimmer has great pigmentation that gives a nice sheen but the reflectiveness can be abit subtle. The formula layers well & the shimmer shades in my opinion are applied best with finger tips.


Overall, I think it's a very good palette. The mattes shades are super pigmented (even the yellow), stayed true to their colour & didn't fade. I actually don't mind that they don't blend so smoothly, but for the trade off of better ingredients (no talc) it's worth the compromise. I also love the packaging and that the shades correspond to a specific BTS song. (RM99.50/RP259.000)



BT21 Mad Spotless Creamy Concealer (N2 Cashew) is Mad For Makeup highly acclaimed concealer that comes in x9 shades. Formulated with Cica, Niacinamide, Hyaluronic Acid that serves to hydrate & maintain skins health, it is safe to use for acne skin. The concealer is an already existing product just with limited edition BT21 packaging.


The formula has a thin & slightly runny consistency with no traceable scent. The concealer has a solid medium coverage that is very buildable and layers well on top of itself. It managed to cover my darkspot, faded acne marks along with my very dark under eye bags with a few layers (x3). But after applying powder, I did notice the coverage slightly decreased making some darkspots areas slightly visible. The concealer is very lightweight and the formula dries down to a natural skin finish but I did notice that the formula did crease on my under eye area after time.


I actually prefer to use this concealer more as an all over the face complexion product. It gives the skin a nice natural glow while covering my imperfections, I love using this when I want the "Clean Girl Look". But I did notice the best application for coverage to me would be to tap the product in using your fingertips, the heat helps to melt & blend the product into the skin.


Overall, I think it is a solid concealer and I love how it looked all over the skin and I love that it also has skincare ingredients! I will definitely be reaching for this concealer when I want a simple clean girl look. (RM52.90/RP129.000)



BT21 21st Century Lip Juicy Serum Tint (Autumn Brown - Koya & Rose Maze - Mang ) is Mad For Makeup serum lip tint comes in x7 shades. It's key ingredients include Avocado Oil, Ceramides, Hyaluronic Acid, Sunflower Seed Oil to moisturize & prevent dry lips. The lip tints are all limited edition & the shades all correspond to a specific BT21 character.


I purchased x2 shades Autumn Brown (Koya) which is described to be a light warm nude brown shade, while Rose Maze (Mang) is a cool rose pink shade. I would say the formula is very different from any Lip Tint that I've experienced, the formula has a very thin consistency similar to a liquid lipstick feel but is non-drying and has a slick feeling on the lips. The pigmentation is actually very nice, the colour coats the lips evenly but I noticed if applied too much, the product can slide around the lips. The formula is hydrating and light-weight feeling on the lips. To me, the tinting effect is fast acting, not as vibrant as other tints I own but does last a very long time (I wiped off the main colour & left the stain/tint on my lips and went to bed. Woke up the next morning the colour was still there).


To me, the best way to apply is to place some amount at the center of the lips, then spread it outwards for a beautiful subtle gradient effect. Overall I like this product very much from the packaging to the formula. (RM52.90/RP136.000)



For an indie makeup brand, Mad For Makeup to me has done a really great job with this collection but by also staying true to their philosophy. All the products I purchased does not only serve as a makeup product but also has skincare benefits as well without compromising performance & quality. Overall, to me Mad For Makeup is a solid brand in terms of products & formulations & I really love their philosophy. Hoping to see more collections from them!


Hopefully you guys manage to pick it up, it is currently selling on Mad For Makeup Shoppe Malaysia Store. Unfortunately for International buyers cannot purchase it outside of the S.E.A region. It is really such a pretty collection with some good quality makeup, so get it while you can! Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more updates and blog posts!




Official Website to Purchase :









SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page