top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

One Brand Wonder : MustaeV

Updated: Apr 27, 2023

MustaeV is a long-time established Korean makeup artists cosmetic line created in the Seoul's Cheongdam District that is researched and developed by Korean-style star makeup artists. Launched in 2009, the company is based on more than 60 years of experience in developing and supplying products to international name brand cosmetic companies.


I would classify them as a medium to high range brand where their prices are higher compared to western/asian drug store (Etude House / Nyx / Milani) but prices are comparable or cheaper than Asian high end brands (Hera / Sulwhasoo / Laneige). if you are interested in knowing more on the products and my thoughts please continue reading


Concept & Packaging :


The entire concept or branding of MustaeV is really skewed towards the Professional MUA and their packaging really represents that. Instead of just going for beautiful or aesthetics MustaeV prioritizes practicality above all. For example their foundation bottle really isn't anything special to me, & initially I criticized them for it but then I thought it would be easier/lighter to carry. Same goes to the the shiny plastic material used in their packaging, initially I thought it was cheap & just conventional but it's really the easiest to clean and I'm sure all MUA's would appreciate that. As for their Glamtouch lipstick packaging to me honestly can look and feel abit tacky but I also find it very unique that it has another pot of lipstick attached to the bottom to not only act as an indicator of shade but I believe to help with sanitary purposes & easy of application for MUAs. Although their packaging is nothing really special but their is alot of thought that goes into the design.


Products :


Below are some of the products I purchased from the Collection/Brand.


* NOTE : Some Products were purchased, while some were sent as PR for a review and post. (All products will be indicated whether purchased or sent as PR) Even though some products were sent as PR all opinions/review are based on my HONEST opinion & experience with the products.


Skinny Tint Foundation (30 Sienna Beige) is MustaeV foundation that comes in x3 shades. Even though x3 shades are to me not nearly enough shades to represent all skin tones, I found that the darkest shade was abit dark for me, normally I purchased the darkest/deepest shade for korean foundations (unless they have my shade) which normally ends up being too light for me. So even though there is only x3 colours, their shade range is wide in terms of Asian / Korean standards. The coverage is solid medium coverage, it did a great job covering up faded acne scars but my dark spots/freckles are still visible under several layers. The formula has the standard consistency foundation, slightly thick with some body. It sits on the skin so beautifully, not settling in my fine lines but also layers / builds well without looking patchy or cakey. I applied it with both sponge & brush, but by using a brush you get better coverage. I also noticed that while using a brush, the foundation didn't streak or leave any brush strokes. The formula has a dewy finish with a skin like effect, comfortable and lightweight feeling on the skin. Overall, I think it is a really great foundation! I really loved how my base makeup looked whenever I wore this foundation. (RM118) *Purchased


Spot Eraser Concealer Pencil (01 Pure Beige, 03 Light Beige & 05 Neutral Beige) is the one of MustaeV top selling product with the highest number of orders consistently in Korea and Overseas. It comes in x3 shades all to go well with their Skinny Tint Foundation range. The formula is creamy but firm at the same time with medium coverage but can be built-up. Layers and sits well on other products, also blends nicely without any patchy-ness. It does tend to crease on larger applied areas, I don't really recommend for under-eye concealer. The product covered all my dark spot / freckles giving me a really flawless base. I really think this product excels in multitasking and it's honestly a great product for precision makeup. I love using this for defining my eyebrow but also for lipsticks application and it's also a great tool to clean up mistakes like eyeliner. Overall this product is a really great product that I can see so many using including me! Will definitely be reaching for this! (RM47) *PR


Cheeky Chic Blush (Light Coral) is MustaeV powder blush that comes in x3 shades, I purchased shade Light Coral which is a faded coral. The formula does contain tiny micro-glitters but are not noticeable at all once on the skin. The formula is soft to the touch but sadly kinda chalky. There was alot of kickback from the product and on the brush when applied. As for the pigmentation, it was also disappointing and lacking. Honestly I had high hopes for this product but I some trouble with layering and blending the blush and certain area would be patchy. Overall, kinda disappointed with this product the shade is so pretty but it just didn't work for me. (RM72) *Purchased


Color Powder Moonlight (White) is MustaeV powder shimmer product that comes in x2 shades that can be used as a highlight or to create a beautiful glow. I purchased the shade White which is a cool tone silver shade. The formula is super finely milled and has a mixture of shimmer pigment with tiny micro-glitters. The formula has great pigment & shine that can be layered/built-up for a blinding highlight. I find the powder to be very versatile where I'm able to get a nice soft sheen / wet look but also an extreme blinding highlight. The product layers and also blends well on powdered skin. Overall a great highlight! (RM54) *Purchased


Glamtouch Soft Matte Lipstick (01 Sleek Red, 02 Tight Magenta & 03 Crispy Scarlet) is one of MustaeV lip products that comes in x3 shades that it has another pot of lipstick attached to the bottom. The first shade Sleek Red can be described as a cool tone deep red shade, while Tight Magenta is a warm tone orange red shade with hints of pink & Crispy Scarlet which is a bright coral shade, all extra pot of lipsticks are the same shade corresponding to their lipstick bullet. The formula is soft and smooth at first application, with minimal tug on the lips. The pigmentation is actually very nice, the colour layers well and coats the lips evenly, giving full opacity with a few layers. The formula is not drying, super lightweight & comfortable on the lips. Not really a matte finish but has a slight sheen, the formula leans more towards a traditional cream lipstick but with minimal shine. Because the formula is soft & creamy, I did have abit of difficulty getting a nice clean edge but using a small lip brush and MustaeV concealer pencil really helped. Overall I'm actually very surprised I like it as much as I do, I'm not a fan of their shade range (which is very typical of Korean Cosmetic Brands) but I really like their formula! (RM49) *PR


Fix-Lasting Powerproof Mascara (01 Black) is MustaeV waterproof mascara that is said to curl and lengthen lashes. The formula also contains fibers to help create length and also has a special curved shape design to better suit Asian eye shape. The formula is abit thick and not runny or liquidy, but coats the lashes very well. I notice that the formula coats the lashes with a thin layer, giving my lashes a natural wash of colour without creating any clumps of products. The shape really does help in creating a nice curl while the fibers also help to lengthen while still making my lashes look natural. I've been really into Korean cosmetics mascaras lately and have been wanting to try out more, but overall it is a very nice natural effect mascara that I've been loving and will continue to use more of! (RM79) *PR



MustaeV honestly really surprised me, I enjoy majority of the products used and will continue to use them. Their prices are abit on the pricey side but their quality reflects it even though their packaging & branding may not. Overall they are a great quality cosmetic brand that I can see alot of Professional MUAs liking. Even though they are an already established brand I would love to see more products and a larger shade range from them!


If you guys are interested in MustaeV and would like to know more or purchase their products, they have an Official Shoppe Malaysia Store link is below (not affiliated) for the International buyers you may purchase it on USA website. Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more updates and blog posts!



Official Website to Purchase :






SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page