top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

One Brand Wonder : Obsess Cosmetics.

Obsess Cosmetics is a Local Malaysian cosmetic Brand that was founded in 2016 by Hafizatul Atikah who entered the cosmetics industry on a part-time basis as a makeup artist and has learnt the techniques from renowned MUA's. "When passion turns into obsession", was how Obsess Cosmetics was born. After Hafizatul Atikah saw other women enjoy the outcomes of her work & there was a lack of local cosmetics brand on 2016, this circumstance has driven her to produce her own cosmetics line in order to make women feel more significant. Obsess Cosmetics believes that everyone deserves to look pretty, be confident with themselves regardless their ages and to never stop being "obsess" with yourself.


Obsess Cosmetics has launched several products to date which include Foundations, several different lip products, face powders, eyeshadows, mascaras, beauty tool & even has a skincare line along with some merchandise. I would classify them to be mid-range in terms of pricing, majority of their products are decently price for the amount.


If you want to know more on this Local Cosmetic brand and some of their products keep reading!


Concept & Packaging :

Obsess Cosmetics main theme colour is Lilac, which represents the colour of helpfulness and kindness. The colour is also a symbolic meaning for Hafizatul Atikah being optimistic in pursuing her dreams and taking every situation as an opportunity to give back to the community.


Packaging wise, Obsess Cosmetics has very sleek & elegant packaging. The lilac colour really stands out in comparison to the mundane pink & black standard market beauty products out there & really makes it memorable. Everything I purchased even though can look small in size feels so nice to hold, touch & the amount is actually comparable or more than other local brands. Overall, I really like Obsess Cosmetics concept & packaging along with their Logo design!



Products :

The images below are some of the products I purchased from the Collection/Brand.


Filter-Like Cream Foundation (Sand), is Obesess Cosmetics recently launched product. It is a liquid foundation that is said to help relieve skin inflammation while maintaining skin hydration. It is infused with Cynanchum Atrantum Extract (Swallowwort), Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Chamomile (Chamomile recutita) and Niacinamide. This liquid foundation comes in x5 shades, I picked the shades Sand which is slightly light cooltone for my skintone.


The formula is super lightweight & has the slightly runny consistency. The formula has a great medium to full coverage that is easy buildable, blendable & layers well both under & on top of other products. The foundation is said to be a semi-matte finish but to me leans more towards a natural dewy finish that is very very skin like. The foundation did a great job at evening out my skin tone and the formula builds beautifully, it manage to cover my faded acne marks well along with my dark circle with a few layers on those targeted areas without looking cakey. For me, I would still have to set this foundation with powder because even though it states to be a demi-matte finish, this foundation to me has more of dewy finish & glow that is still visible after applying powder.


As for wear time, this foundation still looked good even after 5-6 hours however my oils did manage to seep through. The foundation still stayed in place but there are some areas where it cracked / creased (smile lines) but it's not very noticeable. The formula also works well with both sponge & brush application. I recommend using a dense brush for best coverage but also recommend using a damp sponge for blending applications.


Overall, I'm impressed by the formula especially the coverage and I think it's a solid foundation that to me would work for both dry & oily skin types. Definitely a foundation formula that I recommend but can be abit pricey. I also hope they extend their shade range so that many more can enjoy the formula!


Easy TouchUp Compact Powder (Vanilla). is Obsess Cosmetic pressed powder that was released this year (2023) and comes in x3 shades. The formula is infused with Squalene, Limnanthes alba seed oil and is formulated with Mica. I purchased the shade Vanilla which is said to be suitable for light skintone with yellow undertone.


The formula is super soft and smooth to the touch but has alot of kickback when using a brush. Because the powder is super soft the embossed Obsess Logo fades away very fast especially if using a brush. The formula is lightweight and has good coverage that gives the skin a matte finish, it sets my face nicely leaving a soft almost blurred look but I did noticed if applied heavy-handed can look abit cakey & powdery. The powder layers and sinks into the makeup well and I noticed this shade does help to brighten up my complexion. As for the wear time, the compact powder did well with various dewy foundations and the powder made my makeup last around 5-7hours with minimal oils showing but did notice some slight creasing / cracking in my smile line area.


Overall, a good compact powder. I really like the finish it gave my makeup along with the extra coverage for foundations/skin tints that have sheer coverage. I also love the design & how compact & travel friendly it is.


Hari-Hari, Hari Raya Lipmatte (Rosewood) is Obsess Cosmetic liquid lipstick that was released this year (2023) for Hari Raya (Eid al-Fitr) that comes in x7 shades with a limited edition printed packaging. The formula is infused with shea butter, vitamin E, Sea buckthorn fruit oil and is formulated with Bees Wax. I purchased the shade Rosewood which is described as a rose brown shade.


The formula has amazing pigmentation & is also lightweight feeling on the lips. It has a thinner runnier consistency that reminds me of Huda Beauty's liquid lipstick formulas and with x1 layer, my dark lips are well covered. The liquid lipstick has a soft matte finish that is very comfortable to wear. It is very long lasting on the lips, even after drinking & eating there was slight fading but my lips still looked good. The formula also still can transfer even after a long time & will never fully dry down.


Overall, I think it's a great formula & good performance! The colour payoff is amazing & a little can really go along way. The liquid lipstick, is very lightweight to on the lips but I also notice some dryness can occur after 6-7hours of wear time but for me it's not too uncomfortable.


Overall, I really enjoyed everything I purchased and they all worked well or even better that what I expected. Nothing to me was perfect in my opinion but I do feel everything was solid in formulation & performance! My star from all the products is the foundation & compact powder, both had such great coverage & looks so good on the skin. Even though I feel like the foundation leans more for dry-skin types I do think oily-skin can also use it with powder on top & still achieve a healthy glow to the skin. I also really enjoy using the compact powder to add some needed extra coverage to my sheer foundation/skin tint & it also helps to keep my oils at bay! As for the liquid lipstick, it has a very pigment & lightweight but I notice after 5-6 hours the formula can be abit drying but its not uncomfortable for me. Obsess Cosmetics as a whole is a solid makeup brand in my opinion, majority of their products have skin-care ingredients and their performance to me meet or exceeded my expectation!


Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. For all my Malaysian Kawanku (friends) I purchased everything from Obsess Cosmetic's Official Shopee Malaysia Store, and Unfortunately to my international friends Obsess Cosmetic's has yet to do international shipping but hopefully they will soon!


If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more updates and blog posts!


PS. Swatches & Unboxing for all the products here are on my Instagram, if you like to check them out! Instagram Profile Here!



Official Website to Purchase :

SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page