top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

One Brand Wonder : Pony Effect (MBX formerly known as Memebox)

Updated: Apr 27, 2023

Posting Part 3 and the last of my MBX (Memebox) OBW Blog Series! In this blog we will be diving into Pony Effect and their products! As you already know, Pony Effect is under the corporation of MBX (Memebox). Memebox originally started as a makeup / skincare subscription box serving customers with korean/asian products. MBX (Memebox) has several other cosmetic companies under their umbrella such as Kaja Beauty, I'M Meme, I Dew Care & Nooni If you guys didn't know.


Pony Effect was created by Pony (Park Hye Min) who is a South Korean make-up artist, blogger, and beauty vlogger. Being along time fan of pony, to me she was the "Korean Michelle Phan", where I learned so much about K-beauty and their products from watching her YouTube videos. In 2017 Pony was listed in Forbes 30 Under 30 Asia for her make-up career. Pony Effect aim is to creates extensive and high-quality makeup products to inspire and gives courage to show your true self.


Pony Effect can be considered as a middle range makeup line, with high performing products together with elegant & sophisticated concept / packaging. Their prices are similar or comparable to Western/Asian middle range brands like 3CE or Jason Wu. If you want to know more on this Cosmetic brand and some of their products keep reading!


Concept & Packaging :

Pony Effect's packaging to me are ever evolving but still maintaining the elegant & sophisticated vibe. Majority or the packaging has a very sleek look to it, the rounded corners add a soft feminine touch that heightens the quality overall. The embellishment of gold & rose gold really brings the collection together as a whole. The gold & rose gold touches lends a much needed element that makes the look of each individual item more expensive. As for the logo design and branding, Pony Effect to me overall is very sophisticated but has an edge or boldness to them that really mimics Pony (Park Hye-Min) as whole herself.


Products :


The images in this post are some of the products I purchased from Pony Effect range of products, I do own more items but will only be reviewing items that are & still available in the market.


Coverstay Base Primer (Pore & Radiance) Pony Effect released x2 Stay Fit Base Primer with their own purpose but also maintaining the same base formula. Both contains Marine Filling Spheres protects the skin’s moisture barrier, instantly hydrates skin & keeps the hydrated feeling. The Radiance version has a pink pearlescent shade that acts as a "tone-up" effect making the skin appear brighter. The formula is thick but absorbs quickly into the skin, my skin feels hydrated but doesn't feel heavy, there is a slight tacky feeling to the skin but it helps makeup adhere and sit on skin so nicely. My skin does feel smoother after applying this primer and I notice it does slightly blurs my pores and smooths out my skin's texture. There is a slight learning curve to these products, because I do notice that if applied too much it can cause the product to pill. I find that after spreading the products over the face, it is best to tap the product into the skin can eliminate any pilling of the product. Overall, both are really great primers and every time I would use this, it would always make my base makeup look smooth & beautiful & It makes makeup looks so much better without patchy-ness! (USD24/RM56)


Coverstay Liquid Foundation (Beige) is Pony Effect's liquid foundation that comes in x4 shades. The coverage is solid medium coverage that is easily buildable, it did a great job covering up faded acne scars but my dark spots/freckles are still slightly visible under a few layers. The formula has a slightly more runny consistency and is very similar to the Etude House Double Lasting Foundation. It sits on the skin so beautifully, not settling in my fine lines but also layers / builds well without looking patchy or cakey. The formula has a nice soft matte finish with a skin like effect, comfortable and lightweight feeling on the skin. Overall, I think it is a really great foundation! I really loved how my base makeup looked whenever I wore this foundation. (RM140)

Coverstay Liquid Concealer (Beige) is the complimentary concealer to Pony Effect's Coverstay foundation. It is said to be a lightweight, hydrating concealer that brightens up the skin and also comes in x4 shades. This concealer is formulated with Hyaluronic Acid to help moisturize skin, as for the formula it has a slightly thicker consistency compared to the foundation, it blends well and has decent to great coverage. The formula reminds me of the Too Faced Born This Way concealer, where blends & sits beautifully on the skin and has little to no creasing. To be honest, this is hands down my favourite & go to Korean Brand concealers of all time that has never let me down before. I definitely recommend this product & would repurchase again & again. My only complain is the shade range & I would love for then to release more shades so that everyone can enjoy this formula & product. (USD19/RM93)



Coverstay Cushion Foundation (Nude Beige) is one of many cushion foundation by Pony Effect that comes in x4 shades just like their liquid foundation and I purchased the darkest/deepest shade Beige. This cushion is said to be a long-lasting cushion foundation with oil-absorbing effects, it is infused with Calendula Officinalis Flower extracts that nurture and firm the skin, and with Evening Primrose Flower extracts that help control sebum, giving the skin an oil-free finish. First of all, the cushion is very similar to the liquid foundation but is slightly sheerer in coverage. The formula has the standard consistency of a cushion foundation, runny with some body to it. It feels cooling and lightweight on skin and also sits on the skin so beautifully, not settling in my fine lines. The formula at first has a slightly dewy finish on the skin but sets into a very nice soft matte finish and after some wear time I do notice my face being less oily as compared when using other cushions. Besides the shade range, I do think it is a very nice cushion foundation that really does compliment the liquid foundation and I love how it looked on the skin. This cushion foundation is definitely x1 of my top foundations that I often reach for. (RM130)



Coverstay Bake & Fix Powder is Pony Effect's loose powder created for setting & baking makeup. I must mention that I rarely ever see a Korean Cosmetic Brand release a powder specifically for baking, normally baking is geared more towards western beauty so it's very nice to see Pony Effect coming out with a product like this. It is said that the Coverstay Bake and Fix Powder is formulated with Oil Coated Sebum Powder which helps control the skin's sebum, with olive oil cultivated organically from Crete Island, Greece. The olive oil-infused powder helps prevent the skin from drying. The formula a finely milled loose powder which is lightly tinted with pink beige which is suitable for all skin tones. It sets my face nicely and leaving a soft almost blurred look while not looking cakey or heavy. Layers and sinks into the makeup well helping to really set my base makeup together without any patchiness. Overall, I really really like this powder my only complain is the packaging or the container itself, sometimes product can easily spill out if there is no sponge in the container but that is just e being a bit picky. (USD28/RM60)



Powdery Whisper Lipsticks (06 Veiled, & 012 Low Key) is one of Pony Effect's Lip product that comes in x13 shades. The formula is said to be vegan, formulated without Gluten or Soy & does not contain any form of Parabens. I purchased x2 shades out of the range, 06 Veiled is described as a muted rose brown while 012 Low Key is described as a coral beige shade. The formula is creamy but abit stiff and does slightly drag/tug on the lips. It's lightweight on the lips and has very good pigmented, it can be worn feathered out to give lips a soft blurred look or can be layered to get maximum opacity with a matte velvet look. I think it's actually a good matte lipstick formula that is not drying and doesn't leave my lips uncomfortable, but I did notice that it does tend to cling-on dry patches. Honestly, it's not my favourite product from Pony Effect but I really love the colour selections and find some of them to be very universal that is not very typical coming from a Asian/Korean cosmetic Brand. (USD20/RM97)



Powder Touch Lip Colour (03 Like It, 05 Unlock It & 08 Burn It) is one of Pony Effect's lip product that comes in x8 shades and just like their lipstick, this formula is also vegan, formulated without Gluten or soy & does not contain any form of Parabens. I purchased x3 shades out of the range, 03 is a light bubblegum pink, 05 is a muted coral shade while 08 is neutral burnt orange shade. For me the formulation is so creamy and super lightweight, it has an almost whipped feeling on the lips. I also feel like because of the puffy texture it fills in the fine lines on lips, making it look fuller. It does set after awhile but not to a matte, more to velvet finish, very similar in formula to the I'M Meme Mystery Blur Tint or 3CE's Velvet Lip Tint. To be honest I really enjoy this kind of formula, it's obviously not transferproof but the formula feels so comfortable on the lips not leaving any feeling of dryness. A product I definitely would recommend! (USD18/RM70)


Overall I pretty much liked everything I have in my collection and some have/are current favourite. To be honest, when Pony Effect first launched, some of their products/formula's weren't as good as they are now and I love seeing Pony Effect grow not only in the amount of products they produce but with also their quality. What I honestly love about Pony Effect is that their shade range when it comes to color products are really universal that combines the typical K-Beauty shades together with wearable neutral shades as well. Pony Effect is a well thought of brand that merges high quality westerns influences & formula but with K-beauty packaging & prices. Really looking forward to seeing more from this loved brands!


If you guys are interested in Pony Effect, you can check them and any of their products on either their MBX Website or their YesStyle website! If you are from the beautiful country of Malaysia you can check them out at their Shopee Official Store. Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more blog posts!


Official Website to Purchase :






SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page