top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

Perfect Diary X Cardcaptor Sakura (CLAMP)

Updated: Apr 27, 2023

Perfect Diary X Cardcaptor Sakura Collection is one of Perfect Diary's new collection, it is in collaboration with Abby's Choice. Xiao Wanzi (Abby's Choice) is a virtual influencer that the Chinese cosmetics brand Perfect Diary created years ago to help it develop a closer relationship with consumers. Xiao Wanzi has even adopted an English name "Abby" as well as an eponymous product line were sold exclusively on her own e-commerce and makeup tutorial Mini Program on WeChat. The product line was called Abby’s Choice and mostly consists of skincare products. But now Abby’s Choice opened its first offline retail store in Guangzhou.


CLAMP is known for producing iconic titles, such as Cardcaptor Sakura, Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicle, xxxHolic and Chobits is one of the biggest and most acclaimed manga studios in the world. And, as an all-female mangaka group from Japan, they're also one of the world's most unique studios. Their contributions have redefined genres and helped grow the success of both manga and anime internationally. But, their story is really about a group of talented women coming together to do what they love.


In this collection Perfect Diary released x1 Eye & Face Palette, x2 Pressed Powder, x3 Soft Moose Lip Cream. They also released a bundle set consisting of x1 Eyeshadow Palette, x1 Pressed Powder (Option to choose shade) & x1 Soft Moose Lip Cream in a selected shade (09) and a custom pair of Cardcaptor Sakura Charm Earring all in a beautifully packaged box.

Concept & Packaging :

For this collection Perfect Diary did a good job conveying the concept of Cardcaptor Sakura into the packaging of the collaboration. The collection is bring back a sense of elegant nostalgia of the classic anime. The pale powder pink base colour combined with hints of gold gives the entire collection a very elegant feminine youthful vibe. The entire collection is also decorated with Cardcaptor Sakura's symbols like her Staff of Dreams for magical effect to the packaging. The pressed powder packaging has a soft velvet finish which to me is so satisfying to hold in the hands. To me the set is really worth the purchase, the exclusive set box is so stunning with the gold detailing on it's own and the earring's are beautiful really adding a special touch to the entire collection! To me this collection celebrates everything CLAMP and Cardcaptor Sakura embodies, the power and strength of all things feminine!

Products :

Star Light Palette is the clearly the main star piece in this collection. Perfect Diary released a x1 eye & face, in this palette there are x6 eyeshadow x1 blush & x1 highlighter. Out of the x6 eyeshadow shades there are x2 Mattes, x2 shimmer glitter shades and x1 glitter shades. The colour story for this palette to me doesn't really feel like Cardcaptor Sakura. I felt like the palette was missing a matte pink shade. Other than that, this palette is more of a daytime natural look colour scheme. As for formulations, I kinda have more complaint's than I do good things to say about this palette. The matte shades are very stiff in texture but also has abit of kickback on the pan, but the shades have decent pigment that is easily buildable and blends out well. As for the shimmers, the texture is very dry and flaky, to me there isn't an intense shine to the shade but rather just a slight sheen. I actually preferred applying it with a flat brush as compared to my finger but there is alot of fallout from them. The glitter shade has a very creamy/gel like texture that also adheres well to the skin. I really think the purple shade is stunning but the fallout of this is so intense, that I could barely get the look I wanted. The blush in this palette is a coral pink undertone with gold shimmers very similar to NARS orgasm, I found the formula to be very stiff and flaky as well and had a hard time having the coral pink undertone show up on my skin. Overall, kinda disappointed with the overall palette, after just a few hours I did notice alot of fall out and that the shades had faded alot. Definitely not a palette for me, but I could see my younger sister who is just starting into makeup using this. (RM69)


Weightless Soft-Focus Powder (02) For the Cardcaptor Sakura Collaboration Perfect Diary released x2 pressed powder, with x2 shades to match different undertones. I selected / purchased shade 02 which is the deeper out of the two. The Weightless Soft-Focus powder are also embossed with pretty Cardcaptor Sakura symbols on them for such a lovely magical added touch. The formulation is soft and smooth, I do experience a bit of kickback but I don't mind it so that my brush can go back in to pick it up after. To me it has a very same feeling and finish as the Canmake Marshmallow Finish Powder. It sets my face nicely and leaving a soft almost blurred look while not looking cakey or heavy. Layers and sinks into the makeup well helping to blend and set my base makeup together without any patchiness. Overall, I really really like this powder and might purchase another one since it's similar in price with the Canmake powder just with better packaging! (RM60)


Soft Moose Lip Cream (09) For this collection Perfect Diary released x3 Soft Moose Lip Cream for this collection. In the bundle set it came with shade 09 which is a gorgeous dusty burnt orange shade. The formula of Perfect Diary's soft moose lip cream reminds me of 3CE Velvet lip tint. The formula and the texture is very lightweight comfortable, leaning to the velvet matte finish once it dries. The consistency is like a thick whipped formula, but once I place it on the lips, I can't feel it on. Had great pigmentation and colour payoff. Even with just using a the wand I was able to get a nice precise line and my lips had a very blurred / blotted look. Overall a great liquid lip formula, I love this kind of lip products! (RM34)


Overall, I think it's a very decent collection, there were some hits and misses from this collection but not necessarily bad. Perfect Diary's is a decent brand to me with such good affordable products. The face palette was kinda a let down to me, but it might not be for someone else. On the other hand, I really did enjoy the pressed powder and lip product very much. The have great formula and met my expectations overall. To me the bundle set is such a great gift to give any Cardcaptor Sakura fan's and just a great gift for all makeup collectors! But if you are thinking of getting the face palette to use, I definitely recommend also looking into more reviews of this collection before you make your choice.


Hopefully you guys manage to pick it up, it is currently selling on their website, Perfect Diary and is also available on their Official Shopee Store (in Malaysia). Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more there are Weekly updates and blog posts!


Official Website to Purchase :

SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page