top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

Rare Beauty by Selena Gomez (Updated)

Selena Gomez released her new cosmetic brand called Rare Beauty, The brand just like Fenty Beauty by Rihanna are both considered or under the Sephora Brand empire. What really makes Rare Beauty special is that they want to create a social impact and awareness together with their brand called Rare Impact. Rare Beauty aims to reduce the stigma associated with mental health, address the epidemic of chronic loneliness, and help give people access to the resources they need to support their mental well-being. Rare Beauty is also a Vegan, Cruelty Free brand and their uni-carton/box packaging is recyclable and responsibly sourced. If you want to know more on this Celebrity Cosmetic brand and some of their products keep reading!


Mission :

Rare Beauty mission is to help everyone celebrate their individuality by redefining what beautiful means. They want to promote self-acceptance and give people the tools they need to feel less alone in the world. ​


Along with the launch of Rare Beauty, they also launch The Rare Impact Fund. The Rare Impact Fund aims in raising $100M over the next 10 years to help give people access to mental health services. And starting with Rare Beauty’s very first sale, 1% of their annual sales will go directly to the Rare Impact Fund. The Rare Impact Fund will help support the local, national, and global organizations that have a direct impact on the well-being of Rare Beauty’s community, with a focus on underserved communities. If you guys would like to know more or donate to the Rare Impact Fund, you guys can click the link below :




Concept & Packaging :

With everything that Rare Beauty does, their packaging also plays such a beautiful role in the awareness or impact that lends to the brand. At first glance or look at all their products packaging, it's elegantly simplistic, but if you dig deeper the packaging is all designed with a special purpose in mind. Rare Beauty was developed with the idea of a brand that celebrates the individual’s unique beauty. These products aren’t about being someone else, but rather celebrating who you are. The line itself is designed to be simple and humble so that it fits into each individual person’s world, rather than imposing its own style onto the user. At the same time, it needed to be distinct and fun, with a sophistication that reflects the high quality of the formulas themselves as well as the personality of Selena herself. The line is built from simple, geometric shapes in a neutral but feminine matte peach with accents of classic gold. Another unique aspect about the packaging is that it was developed for users who have arthritis or for those who have hand mobility disabilities making it easier to hold/open/use the products. Again, Rare Beauty is really changing the makeup industry going a step further in making her makeup brand more inclusive to others.


The concept and design of all Rare Beauty's products were developed by a huge Design firm by the named of Established , who has done multiple other concepts for other noticeable brands and I though deserves a shout out! Check out their website and work on the link provided!


Products :

The images in this post are some of the item I purchased from the product range.


Stay Vulnerable Melting Blush (Nearly Neutral) is Rare Beauty's cream blush and comes in x5 shades. I purchased Nearly Neutral which can be described as a soft neutral pink. The formula has abit of an oily consistency, at first touch the product feels super creamy and melts quickly from my body heat. The formulation dries down to a silky velvet feel but with a natural dewy finish. The pigmentation is actually abit disappointing, it was super sheer and I did expect more since their liquid blush formula is super pigmented. For me I got better colour payoff using a brush compared to using my fingertips. I did have some issues applying this cream blush on top my foundation as well as powdered/set face. It was patchy at times to blend out and I had to limit the amount of blending or be very light handed to not disturb what I had underneath it. If used on bare skin, the formula does layer well and gives the cheeks a healthy glow with a wash of colour. I also notice it does fade rather quickly but last longer if you set it with translucent powder.


Out of all the packing for the Stay Vulnerable Collection, the cream blush is definitely my favourite! The pebble like shape just looks so contemporary and also very refined, giving it a very feminine feel that goes perfectly with the colour. But sadly, I don't think I would repurchased because of the effort & learning curve involved with crème products. If I had to choose either blushes in the range, I would repurchase the liquid formula compared to this. (USD21/RM105)


Stay Vulnerable Liquid Eyeshadow (Nearly Apricot) is Rare Beauty's liquid eyeshadow, it comes in x5 shades that are inline with the whole Stay Vulnerable collection. I purchased x1 out of all them, Nearly Apricot is described to be a soft coral shade. The formula has abit more of thicker consistency but the matte formulation is super pigmented and lightweight, very similar to their liquid blush formula. The matte formulation dries down very quickly, so definitely have to work fast with it and I wouldn't recommend leaving it on for too long without blending, because once it sets its hard blend the colour out and can be patchy in certain areas. I also would recommend applying this on bare skin more like a base as compared to on top of eyeshadow, I had a hard time blending the edges and sometimes would be patchy and uneven. But other powder eyeshadow layer and blend so well on top of this formula. Overall I actually like this product, there is a slight learning curve with all liquid/cream products but it's a great product for an easy eye look. My perfered method to use this would be as a base colour and use some darker shades for more depth or add a shimmer/glitter layer for some shine. (USD20/RM98)


Stay Vulnerable Glossy Lip Balm (Nearly Mauve) is one of Rare Beauty's lip product released together with their Stay Vulnerable collection, I purchased the Mini Mauve Lip Duo set. This product comes in a total of x5 shades again all inline with the collection. The colour that came in the set, Nearly Mauve is described in their website as a soft mauve but to me is more of cool plump shade. To me the formula has an interesting texture and feeling on lips, it's not like a traditional feeling gloss but has a lightweight feel almost like a lip balm. The pigmentation is sheer but has enough colour and decent shine giving the lips a nice wash of colour. It feels very comfortable and hydrating on the lips but I did notice that if applied to much the formula can get stringy. Overall, it's a unique feeling lightweight hydrating gloss that I would be a great alternative to just wearing lip balm. (USD18/RM90)


With Gratitude Dewy Lip Balm (Sincere) * is one of Rare Beauty's lip product released together in their Mini Mauve Lip Duo set. This lip balm comes in a total of x8 shades but Sincere shade is limited to this set. The colour Sincere is described as a cool tone rose mauve shade. The consistency is soft with creamy texture that is very lightweight and comfortable to wear. Colour payoff is great and has decent shine that is very hydrating on the lips. Reminds me more of a traditional crème lipstick formula, overall it's a very nice lip product with great pigmentation while hydrating the lips making them look healthy and juicy. (USD16/RM79)


Positive Light Liquid Luminizer (Mesmerize) is Rare Beauty's liquid highlighter, it comes in x8 shades and was released together with their Brand launch. I purchased x1 out of all them, Meamerize which is a pink rose bronze shade which I find to be suitable for alot of skin tones. The formula has thick and slippery consistency, the smell is very heavy lined with silicon and the formula has tiny micro-glitters scattered throughout but isn't noticeable once on the skin. The formula sits and blends well on the skin, the pigmentation is decent and can be layered to intensify the shine. I do recommend going in with very soft/light touches when blending as it can be patchy and remove some on the makeup underneath. Overall, it's a very nice liquid highlighter with a very pretty shade range and you get alot of product for the amount. (USD22/RM108)


Liquid Touch Weightless Foundation (270N) is Rare Beauty's first liquid Foundation. It is said to be a weightless, breathable everyday foundation that comes in a total of x48 shades. To be honest, I was very skeptical about the foundation after watching several YouTube reviews online. But to my surprised, I really liked the feeling and overall texture of the foundation. The consistency is very liquid, where I definitely recommend using a brush for application and I notice when I do apply it with a brush it leaves no streaks or brush stokes on the skin. As for coverage, it's a solid medium to almost full coverage when layered but only if applied with a brush. I really like the layering on this foundation, I've hadn't had any issues with it layering on itself and other products layering on the foundation. I also feel like this foundation is somewhat forgiving in the sense that even after I leave it on for awhile to do other parts of my makeup routine, it doesn't settle/set in place where I cant build or add to it. The finish is a beautiful natural finish, not satin but also not overly dewy and even after several hours of wear time my skin didn't look oily or greasy but instead had a nice dewy natural look. Will be reaching for this more! (USD29/RM142)


Liquid Touch Brightening Concealer (260N) is the complimentary concealer to Rare Beauty's foundation. It is said to be a lightweight, hydrating concealer that brightens up the skin and also comes in x48 shades. Normally for concealers brand will group them and only release a certain number of concealers that can work for the masses, but I was so surprised to see that Rare Beauty came out with the same number of concealers as their foundation when they released! The consistency of the concealer is thicker than the foundation, blends well and has decent coverage. The only drawback that I found with this concealer is that it creases a lot on me! I really had a hard time getting my undereye area looking smooth using this concealer, for a hydrating formula for me it didn't do much for my dry undereye area. I would definitely need to try this concealer with extra moisturized undereye to see if there is any difference. Other than that, I don't mine the puffy angled doe-foot applicator. I think it picks up good amount of product and the angle does help to get better precision. (USD19/RM93)


Soft Pinch Liquid Blush (Love - Matte) is Rare Beauty's liquid blush, it comes in x8 shades with two finishes Matte & Dewy. I purchased x1 out of all them, Love is described to be a warm terracotta shade. As for now I can only speak towards the Matte finish formulation, and after several uses I can say I love this liquid blush but there is a slight learning curve with it. The formula has abit more of thicker consistency but the matte formulation is super pigmented! The matte formulation dries down very quickly, so definitely have to work fast with it. I wouldn't recommend leaving it on the foundation for too long, because once it sets its hard blend the colour out and can be patchy in certain areas. Luckily the formula layers well and intensity is easily buildable. So far I hadn't had any issues applying this blush under and on top my foundation. How I would apply this is by first applying it on the back of my hand then using a brush for apply in the skin, I find it helps with the patchiness and gives it a more natural look. Out of all the packing, the Liquid blush is definitely my favourite! the simple touch of gold is so stunning, and I just simply adore the unique paddle handle cap. I honestly will be purchasing more of this in the near future, will update the post once I get my thoughts in! (USD20/RM98)


Lip Soufflé Matte Lip Crème (Brave) is one of Rare Beauty's lip product released together with their launch. This matte lip crème comes in a total of x12 shades ranging from your cool tone neutrals to your warm bright reds. The colour I purchased, Brave is a cool muted peach shade which to me is perfect for the fall time. The consistency is abit thick with a whipped like texture, very lightweight on the lips. Colour payoff is great, not patchy and doesn't dry out the lips. I wouldn't necessarily call it matte, but instead it has a velvet finish very very similar to alot of Korean Brands lip products out there. Overall, it's a very decent lip product, and if you guys have been reading my older blog post you would know, I loooove this kind of formula! But I also feel that I do also prefer my Korean brands products that have the same or better formula's for this kind of mousse / whipped lip product. I would definitely purchase more because of the unique shades that KBeauty sometimes just don't include or just not within their spectrum. Another great product by Rare Beauty! (USD20/RM98)


Overall I am happy with all the products I purchased and liked their expansion of the brand with their Stay Vulnerable collection, the only product that was abit disappointing was the cream blush but definitely recommend their liquid formula instead. As of now Sephora Malaysia has yet to launch their eyeshadow palette and I'm really looking forward to that as well as future releases from Rare Beauty!


If you guys are interested in Rare Beauty, you can check them and any of their products on their website or Sephora US! If you are from the beautiful country of Malaysia Rare Beauty has officially launched at our local Sephora, you can check them out at Sephora My. Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more updates and blog posts!


Official Website to Purchase :





SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page