top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

Shu Uemura X One Piece (Toei Animation) Collection

Updated: Apr 27, 2023

Shu Uemura X One Piece Collection is Shu Uemura's 2020 Holiday Collection. Every year the brand comes out with special collaborations for the holiday season. In this collection Shu Uemura released x2 10pan Eyeshadow Palettes, x2 Highlighters, x3 Lip Sets, x2 Eyebrow Pencil, X1 Brush Set, X1 Eyelash Curler, x1 mini lip set, x1 travel brush set, and x1 Makeup Box. Together with this collection, Shu Uemura also released some of their skincare / haircare products with limited edition One Piece packaging and by buy their entire collection, you will also be getting a limited mascot (Chopper) stuffed animal. Being a very very major One Piece fan, I really wish I could have purchased the entire collection, but honestly I'm super duper happy with what I got!



Concept & Packaging :

For this collection the theme really centers around the Straw Hat Pirates as a crew where majority of the characters are featured on the packaging. The One Piece collaboration to me is very gender neutral using a very deep blue as the statement colour and black with gold as majority of the base colour throughout the packing of the the collection. The artwork is very true to the manga style and it's nice to be able to see certain characters on specific makeup product/items. I would have like to have seen every crew member with their specific product/item in this collection instead of only 6 out of the 9 members where featured but some products did display the entire crew as a whole. Overall, I think this collection is very well thought through and I love how the lipstick names have a play on words with the specific character skill and it makes it even more special as a collector and One piece lover. To me the main piece is definitely the eyeshadow palettes, the packaging is designed as a beautiful sea gem embellished with the entire crew in a holographic print really giving the vibe of an underwater treasure. The colour scheme for both the palettes are very beautifully represents the name chosen by Shu Uemura and again to me very well thought of. My only complain is the bulky size and wasted space in the design on the palette, other than that I love every aspect of the entire collect!



Products :


Treasure Box Eye Palette (Grand Line / Thousand Sunny) Like every year, to me the eyeshadow palettes are always the main piece in the entire collection and always a must buy for me. Shu Uemura released x2 10pan eyeshadow palette in a special limited edition packaging mimicking a beautiful jewel of the sea concept. If you are a One Piece fan, then you can guess that the The Grand Line palette is a cool tone colour story while the Thousand Sunny is the more warm tone palette. Both the palettes are super versatile, you can create an everyday look as well as a night time look and both palettes have their Pop of colours as well. The formulations of the eyeshadow are very true to Shu Uemura's eyeshadow quality. The mattes are soft and super pigmented, they do give off a tiny bit of kickback on the pan though but to me it's not such a big deal. The mattes blend super effortlessly on skin and even on layered products. As for the shimmers, there are x2 distinct formulas, one with a subtle sheen but has beautiful base pigmentation and one more where the shine is more intense. I absolutely love the formula of the shimmers, I find them to have a very pigmented base colour with a subtle sheen, and they blend out beautifully with no patchiness. In both palette there is also x1 glitter-shimmer of the same shade that has such a beautiful mixture of colours. The formula is very unique and I have never encountered an eyeshadow formula like this from Shu Uemura. This glitter-shimmer shade looks very flaky and brittle but is soft and creamy to the touch, and has very good overall pigment and shine. It can be used lightly as a wash of glitter or can be built-up or layered for a very very blinding intense shine! This shade to me is the star shade of the eyeshadow palette! Overall I love Shu Uemura's eyeshadow quality and this is such great palettes to have and being a One Piece fan a definite buy! (RM300)


Fearless Crew Highlighter (Gold Feast / Romance Dawn) Normally every year for their collaborations, Shu Uemura will release x2 face products either being a Blush or Highlighter. For the One Piece Collaboration Shu Uemura released x2 highlighters. Romance Dawn is champagne pink shade with a cool silver undertone while Gold Feast is peachy gold with the warm orange undertone. Both the shades have the same formula, soft but stiff to the touch which to me is great with picking up product while the stamped Straw Hat Pirates Logo doesn't disappear so easily after several uses. The highlighter is overall very pretty, decent in shine, Both shades are neither subtle and neither is it a blinding highlight. The highlighters give off this natural glow with an almost sheen like effect, the formula blends and layers well. My only slight dissatisfaction is that the highlighter has tiny scattered micro-glitters throughout the formula. Overall, happy I manage to purchased both the palettes and I think the quality of Shu Uemura's eyeshadows are worth it! (RM180)


Wanted Gold Eyelash Curler. Throughout the years, Shu Uemura has released their legendary Eyelash Curler together with various collections / collaboration adding a signature keychain to customize the collection. Shu Uemura's eyelash curler is such an iconic beauty tool by them, and they claim it is uniquely designed curved at an angle suits all eye shapes while the silicone rubber pad releases just the right amount of pressure to curl lashes. To me, I find the curved diameter is slightly wider while the depth of the curve is also deeper in shape. I also notice that with the Shu Uemura eyelash curler I do manage to gather my inner lashes better as compared to some other brands. The rubber pad is also very different in the sense, that it feels much thicker but has a good amount of bounce when squeezed. The pressed released gives a beautiful natural curved lash and no matter how hard I tried to press / squeeze the curler, my lashes never curled into hard angles. Only downside to me is there are no support / padding for the holders, after a bit of pressure my fingers started to feel some discomfort. Other than that, I definitely understand why this is an award wining eyelash curler! And this is my second purchased eyelash curler from them, I really wished, that the Straw Hat Pirates Logo was made of metal like their previous year collection, but still overall very happy with the purchase. (RM79)


Petal 55 Foundation Brush. Shu Uemura's Petal 55 brush is another iconic beauty tool by them, it is an medium size oval shape densely packed foundation brush which is a staple to their brand as well. The petal 55 brush is often times added into Shu Uemura's many collaboration all with their limited edition packaging. To me, I've always enjoyed using brushes over sponges for the application of watery/runny liquid foundations but always hate having brush strokes or streaks. This foundation brush has soft compact bristle making the brush very densely pact, which makes it a great brush for spreading the product evenly. I find that it doesn't soak up alot of the product and doesn't leave streaks. Overall a very good foundation brush, love that it fits in the palm of the hand only thing is that due to its denseness in bristles, it can be hard to wash. (RM238)


Rouge Unlimited Matte Lipstick (Gear Flame, Orange Pistol & Gear Cinnamon). From this collection Shu Uemura released x3 shades. The x3 shades are Gear Flame which is a deep warm berry shade, Orange Pistol is a neutral orange red colour and Gear Cinnamon is a beautiful burnt orange shade. The formula is super pigmented, and the finish is definitely a no-shine matte. The formula is soft and creamy, and it has a very comfortable lightweight feeling almost powder feel on the lips but with a creamy finish and will definitely transfer on contact. Overall, it's a beautiful comfortable matte lipstick with stunning pigmentation that wont dry out the lips. I really enjoy their matte lipstick formula and really looking forward to be using these! (RM102)


Rouge Unlimited Amplified Matte Lipstick (Crimson Charge). From this collection Shu Uemura released x1 shade Crimson Charge which is a gorgeous brick red shade. The formula is very very similar to the Unlimited Matte formula but dries down to a powder matte finish. The formula is super pigmented, with a no-shine matte finish. The formula is soft and creamy, and it has a very comfortable lightweight feeling on the lips but will definitely transfer on contact. Overall, it's a beautiful comfortable true matte lipstick with stunning pigmentation and I enjoyed both the Unlimited Matte and the Amplified Matte formulations. (RM102)



Rouge Unlimited Lacquer Shine Lipstick (Nudy Roseo). From this collection Shu Uemura released x3 shades, out of them I only purchase x1. Nudy Roseo is stunning a muted mauve shade which to me is one of the only nude shades in the lipstick collection. The formula is super pigmented, with a high-shine finish. The formula is soft and creamy, and it has a very lightweight hydrating feeling on the lips. The formula is also not sticky or thick in consistency making it feel very comfortable to wear. A very nice creamy lip formula and very to have purchased this item. (RM102)


Ultime8 Sublime Cleansing Oil (One Piece Limited Edition). I don't normally speak about skincare very often, for me I've been battling my acne all my life and skincare is kinda a difficult subject to me. Initially I didn't intend on purchasing this item with the collection because I'm just really into makeup but in the end purchased it because of that limited edition One Piece packaging. I've been using this cleansing oil for abit now (half way through the bottle) and I must say, I really like this product as a face wash and as a makeup remover. I've always stayed away from oil-base cleansers because it would always normally feel greasy and heavy after use but with this cleansing oil it feels totally different! It removes all types of makeup so well from foundation and even mascara with so little effort and amount. Normally for me x1 pump is enough to remove my entire face/eye makeup and I don't have to double cleanse like I would normally do using a balm formula. After cleansing my skin doesn't feel tight nor doesn't it feel greasy instead is feel soft and moistures. Overall, I am totally in love with this cleansing oil and I really appreciate the skincare benefit to it as well and I do notice a difference in my skin after I started using this product. I would definitely repurchase even though it has a hefty price tag and I think it is now in my holy grails of products. (RM178)


Overall, it's another solid collection by Shu Uemura with beautiful packaging! One Piece is such a world loved phenomenon in the Anime world, where One piece is the highest selling mange of all time and is becoming one of the longest running mange/anime coming into with more than 1000 chapters to date! One of my biggest wishes was to have a One Piece makeup collection, but knowing the Author and the writers of One Piece I was very skeptical of it ever happening. I was excited beyond words knowing there would be a One Piece collaboration with Shu Uemura and I knew I had to have it. Shu Uemura is such a fun and edgy brand and this can be seen in majority of their collaborations, bringing in some unique concepts as well as great products across the board as a brand. I honestly love each item I purchased from this collection and I'm really looking forward to seeing their next holiday collection but I must say to me this is the collection of my dreams!


Hopefully you guys manage to pick it up, The One Piece collection is still available on the Shu Uemura Website (Malaysia). Shu Uemura has some quality products and definitely worth looking at! Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other posts, or come back for more!

for morefor more blog posts!


SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page