top of page
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Writer's picturesetsunazaf

New Nuances : Rare Beauty by Selena Gomez.

As new makeup is constantly being released, I decided to do a dedicated blog series called 'New Nuances' that focuses on all new (or new to me) cosmetic / makeup products from either x1 or several brands. For the first New Nuances we take a look at some new product launches by Rare Beauty.


I've already done x2 dedicated post on Rare Beauty for One Brand Wonder blog series. Where we took a deep dive into Rare Beauty as a whole and discuss about their brand, concept, packaging, missions & products. If you would like to read on those links are below :



Thank you for taking the time to be here! If you are interested in knowing more on the recently launched products of Rare Beauty and my thoughts please continue reading!



Products :

The images in this post are some of the item I purchased from the product range.

*******************


Positive Light Tinted Moisturizer (24N) is Rare Beauty's new tinted moisturizer that comes in x24 flexible shades and is said to instantly blurs skin with glowy, light to medium coverage, all while hydrating and protecting skin from the sun. I purchased 24N which can be described as a light medium neutral shade. The formula is runny / liquidy but with some body to it, has a heavy scent of SPF along with a hint of cinnamon that can linger for awhile. The coverage is very sheer and to me can barely touch medium coverage. After applying several layers, my skin does look even out but my dark spots are clearly very visible. I normally do spot concealing where I need to before or after using sheer foundations like this. The finish is so beautiful, the tinted moisturizer sets in a soft matte with a very skin like finish but with abit of radiance. The formula is also super lightweight & comfortable on the skin. During application I did notice that this tinted moisturizer can streak if applied with finger tips & some brushes and that makeup sponges tend to soak up a lot of the product. I would recommend using a densely packed brush for application. After about 4-5 hours of wear time, I did notice my face getting somewhat oily & greasy where the tinted moisturizer moved/slipped around my face. It also did breakdown abit & felt abit heavy on my face.

Overall, I tint it's a nice tinted moisturizer for a simple natural look. I really like the finish, it made the skin look healthy & radiant. My only wish is that it had slightly more pigment / coverage & that it lasted abit longer for my oily skin.


**Disclaimer :

The Tinted Moisturizer does contain a somewhat controversial ingredient (Homosalate 9%). I strongly recommend all the readers to do their due diligence in researching & understanding this ingredient, so that you may come up with your own conclusions regarding the fair/safe usage of this ingredient.


(USD29/RM42)


Always An Optimist Soft Radiance Setting Powder (Medium) is Rare Beauty's setting powder that comes in x5 shades. The setting powder is very soft & finely milled. The coverage is sheer but also gives a hint of colour, which can alter the makeup underneath if not using the correct shade. The formula has tiny micro-glitters which can be noticeable if looked closely. The powder sets the skin beautifully & does give a slight blurring effect without looking powdery or cakey. The setting powder doesn't leave the skin looking flat but instead gives abit of luminosity to the skin.

Overall, I really really like this powder and I don't mind the micro-glitters To me it's definitely an all over the face powder compared to a baking or a undereye powder. The shade medium is actually a bit too dark for my skintone, but I use this powder to set the perimeter or my bronzer/contour. I also been enjoying this setting powder when I'm using a foundation/cushion that is slightly too light for me. I use this powder to blend the foundation & my skin together so it matches better. Will definitely be continue using this setting powder. (USD22/RM108)


Warm Wishes Effortless Bronzer Stick (Happy Sol) is one of Rare Beauty's recently released bronzer stick. This product comes in a total of x5 shades, I purchased Happy Sol, which is described as a light brown with cool undertones. This shade for me is the perfect shade for either contouring & bronzing. At first glance & swipe, the formula looks very greasy but once touched the formula is a soft velvety feel. The formula really surprised me, it's lightweight & very comfortable on the skin. It glides on effortlessly with no tug and blends beautifully without any patchiness leaving behind good pigmentation. The bronzer layers well on-top of other products without disturbing what is underneath & it sets to a velvety finish but has a bit of radiance to it.

Altogether, I'm very impressed by this product & it's formula. One of the best cream bronzers I've come across in awhile. The formula reminds me very much of the YSL Les Sahariennes Healthy Glow Balm that was discontinued, which was once of my favourite cream bronzers. I definitely recommend this product & shade if you are looking for a cream bronzer & is around my skintone! (USD23/RM113)


Discovery Eyeshadow Palette (True to Myself) is one of Rare Beauty's eyeshadow palette. It comes in 7shades, x3 Mattes, x2 Metallic, x1 Duo-Chrome, x1 Glitter shade. The colour story along with the packaging and pan shapes of this palette really make it unique. The warm tone muted shades to me are really special & don't have in my collection. The palette is also very versatile that it can create simple everyday neutral looks along with nighttime smoky glamourous looks as well. The matte formulas are super soft & buttery and blends very well, the pigmentation is decent but to me this is the kind of matte formula where you have to built-it up. Which to me isn't bad, it's very forgiving but also gives a lot more control to how vibrant or subtle the shade can be. The metallic formulas are also super soft to the touch & is super pigmented. It gives of good shine and layers well on top of other products / formulas. The duo-chrome shade is similar in formula with the metallic except that the formula is abit chunkier & has micro-glitters. The the duo-chrome shade layers wells & has great shine. As for the glitter shade, the formula is abit chunky / gritty but smooth at the same time and has a gel like base. It adheres & layers on very well without feeling sticky / flaky or uncomfortable on the eyes.

Overall, a very solid eyeshadow palette. The formula is very nice and the shades are very different & non-typical. I liked all the looks I created with this palette & am very happy to have it in my collect. Will continue to reach for this & recommend. (USD29/RM142)


SHADE DESCRIPTION

  • Undeniable - matte purple taupe

  • Genuine - matte peach

  • Passionate - duo-chrome magenta gold

  • Accepting - glittering rose to bronze

  • Loyal - matte warm brown

  • Positive - metallic pink champagne

  • Pure - metallic true gold


Perfect Strokes Universal Volumizing Mascara is Rare Beauty's only mascara. The Mascara comes with a hour-glass shaped applicator. The formula is slightly thick but also abit wet and the black shade is very pigmented & dark. The formula is very buildable not only volumizing but also lengthening the lashes. The mascara doesn't leave any clumps but can bunch up the lashes together if several layers are applied. All-in-all, it's a good mascara and I really like it & have been reaching for this majority of the time. I really wished, I purchased the bigger tube as compared to the mini size. (USD11-20/RM55-98)


Overall I am happy with all the products I purchased and liked their expansion of the brand with these new products, the only product that I'm having slight considerations is the Tinted Moisturizer, I will continue to use it but sparingly & when I'm not really doing much. My favourite product out of the bunch is.... the Bronzer Stick! Hands down my new favourite bronzing cream product worth the hype.


If you guys are interested in Rare Beauty, you can check them and any of their products on their website or Sephora US! If you are from the beautiful country of Malaysia Rare Beauty has officially launched at our local Sephora, you can check them out at Sephora My. Thank you for reading, hope you enjoyed it. If you liked it continue reading other post, or come back for more updates and blog posts!


Official Website to Purchase :







SIGN UP FOR ALL UPDATES, POSTS & NEWS

Thanks for submitting!

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page